HIS 270: Property, Empire, and Law

This collection of British Foreign Office files explores the history of Persia (Iran), Central Asia and Afghanistan from the decline of the Silk Road in the first half of the nineteenth century to the establishment of Soviet rule over parts of the region. 

Note: This collection is owned in perpetuity by Davidson College.

Complete volumes of all British Colonial Office and Foreign Office Confidential Print for the Middle East.

Note: This collection is owned in perpetuity by Davidson College.

British Government documents covering all South Asian countries.

Note: This collection is owned in perpetuity by Davidson College.

Explore the history of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the end of British rule in 1947, through the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland.

Note: This collection is owned in perpetuity by Davidson College.

British Government documents from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion, and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices.

Note: This collection is owned in perpetuity by Davidson College.

British Government documents, including diplomatic dispatches, correspondence, investigative reports, treaties, and more, useful for research on historical, political, social, and economic topics.

Note: This collection is owned in perpetuity by Davidson College.
 

British government documents for the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America. Topics include slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, territorial disputes, the League of Nations, McCarthyism and the nuclear bomb.

Note: This collection is owned in perpetuity by Davidson College.