Research Guides: History 372: Egypt, From Soup to Nuts: Presenting Egypt

Reference Resources

These collections include encyclopedias, handbooks, and entries from those source that provide overviews of various topics. This is a great place to start to get a sense of your research topic.

Varisco, Daniel Martin. "Orientalism and Islam." Oxford Bibliographies, 2020
Provides a detailed bibliography on orientalism.
Archaelogy and Orientalism, in "Museums of Art in the West" by Daniel J. Sherman, Oxford Bibliographies, 2018
Section on orientalism in a wider bibliography on museums
Schorsch, Deborah, 'Conservation in Egyptological museum collections', in Ian Shaw, and Elizabeth Bloxam (eds), The Oxford Handbook of Egyptology, Oxford Handbooks (2020
Encyclopedia article on conservation in museums that have Egyptian collections.
Price, Campbell, 'Museum collections', in Ian Shaw, and Elizabeth Bloxam (eds), The Oxford Handbook of Egyptology, Oxford Handbooks (2020)
Delineates the background to the acquisition of objects and the formation of museum collections—notably through the elaborate antiquities trade network rather than through archaeological ‘discovery’. The resulting museum representations of ‘ancient Egypt’ attempt to elide many gaps in the material record to form a coherent (but often simplistic) narrative.

Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases search across various different subject areas and format types.

Davidson Library Catalog
Search for books, articles, and more

ProQuest Research Tools
Multidisciplinary collection of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and more. Search includes all of the Davidson College Library ProQuest databases.
JSTOR
JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. Includes ArtStor licensed images.