Research Guides: History 372: Egypt, From Soup to Nuts: Examining Egypt

Reference Resources

These collections include encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries that provide overviews of topics. This is a great place to start to get a sense of your research topic.

The Oxford handbook of Egyptian epigraphy and palaeography by Davies & Laboury (eds)
ISBN: 9780190083731
Publication Date: 2020
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt by Donald B. Redford (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195102345
Publication Date: 2001

Spencer, Patricia. “Egypt Exploration Society.” In The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East. Oxford University Press, 2011.
Describes the organization founded in 1882 by Amelia Edwards.
Bednarski, Andrew, 'The nature and history of Egyptology', in Ian Shaw, and Elizabeth Bloxam (eds), The Oxford Handbook of Egyptology, Oxford Handbooks (2020).
Intended as a starting point for readers interested in the history of the discipline. It begins with a brief discussion on the poorly defined nature of Egyptology and typical obstacles encountered by authors. It presents an overview of Egyptological phenomena from Classical antiquity to the twentieth century, intended as a point of departure for scholars new to the subject, and examines past and current investigations into the history of the discipline.

Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases search across various different subject areas and format types.

Davidson Library Catalog
Search for books, articles, and more

ProQuest Research Tools
Multidisciplinary collection of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and more. Search includes all of the Davidson College Library ProQuest databases.
JSTOR
JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. Includes ArtStor licensed images.

Subject-Specific Scholarly Databases

These databases will provide access to academic books, articles, and other sources, in specific subject areas.

America: History & Life, and Historical Abstracts
Citations to articles, book chapters, book reviews, and more.
Historical Abstracts covers world history from 1450 to the present; America:History & Life covers the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to present. Search is for both by default, you can choose one or the other.