Research Guides: Chemistry: Getting Started

Welcome to the Chemistry research guide! Use this guide as a starting point for your research in this subject area.

Recommended Reference Sources

CHEMnetBASE
A collection of major chemical reference sources for physical property data, chemical names and synonyms, interactive Periodical Table and more. Up to two (2) people can search this database at any one time.
Includes: CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics; Combined Chemical Dictionary; Dictionary of Natural Products; Dictionary Organic Compounds; Dictionary of Drugs; Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds; Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds; Dictionary of Marine Natural Products; Dictionary of Food Compounds; Polymers: A Property Database; Properties of Organic Compounds.
Gale eBooks Reference Library
Encyclopedias and reference sources that cover a variety of topics.
Merck Index Online
Contains over 11,500 entries on drugs and pharmaceuticals, common organic chemicals, and laboratory reagents. Entries include chemical names, molecular formula, chemical structure, physical data, literature references, and more. The online version contains information not available in the print.
Oxford Reference
Within Oxford Reference, you may find results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects. Note: while we do not have access to all of the titles in the full collection, the default search covers the titles that Davidson owns.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
The full text of the most recent edition of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.
Note: Up to two (2) people can search this database at any one time.