Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

19th Century Primary Sources

A listing of 19th century primary sources about local people and events found in Archives & Special Collections, supplemented by the library's extensive e-resources.

Databases with 19th Century Primary Sources

In this box, you will find a selection of databases containing primary source materials focused on nineteenth century North America. Databases are grouped by subject and type. If you are interested in nineteenth century resources beyond those listed here, please explore the "Interested in Other Databases?" box below.

Interested in Other Databases?

See our A - Z Databases guide for a complete listing of the library's offerings. Search within the "primary sources" database type if you are looking for additional primary resources.

See also: our History subject guide's listing of primary source collections and our 19th Century Presbyterian Church History guide for subject-specific information.

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com