Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Zotero

Open Source Citation Management Tool

How to Create a Bibliography

To create a bibliography for an MS Word document from your Zotero references:

  1. Select the references or collections you want to include.
  2. Hold the control key and click to select multiple items.
  3. Right-click one of the selected items and choose the book icon in the upper ribbon.
  4. In popup window, select citation style.
    • You may add other styles (select Manage Style in popup window)
  5. Output Mode - select bibliography
  6. Output Method - Copy to Clipboard
  7. Paste into a Word document

To create a bibliography for Google Docs from your Zotero references:

Zotero works with Google Docs. You must have the Zotero Connector installed in Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Instead of a toolbar with buttons, as in the Word screenshot above, look for the Zotero menu in your Google Docs editor.

Screenshot of Zotero menu in Google Docs

Creating a Bibliography While You Write

​Zotero offers word processing plugins for Word and OpenOffice. The plugin adds a Zotero toolbar to your word processor that allows you to add citations to your document while you write.

To add a citation, click the first button ("Add/Edit Citation") on the toolbar. Search for the reference you want to cite and press Enter. Zotero will add the citation at your cursor.

At the end of your paper, click the "Insert Bibliography" button. Your bibliography will appear, and new citations will be added automatically. Change bibliographic styles with the "Document Preferences" button.

The toolbar looks different on different operating systems and versions of Word. Mousing over the toolbar will pop up each button's function if they're not clearly labeled.

 

      Button functions in Microsoft Word

 

Credit

This page features information by Jason Puckett and licensed by Georgia State University Library under CC BY-NC 3.0 US.

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com