Research Guides: Archaeology: Find Images & Digital Artifacts

Temple of Poseidon (Temple of Hera II)

Temple of Poseidon (Temple of Hera II): view from SE., ca. 460 B.C. Paestum, Italy

ARTstor images provided by Allan Kohl, photographer. Use with permission.

Using images for a class project? Be sure to consider copyright!

Check out our guide on images and copyright:

World Heritage Sites: Africa
Explore more than 86,000 African Heritage site objects including scholarly research, books, historical and recent documents, maps, site plans or diagrams, and photographs and slides. Spatial data includes 3D models and plans of structures and surrounding landscapes, geographic information systems (GIS), ground plans, façade views of structures, stereo and digital images, panorama images, and digital video of African Heritage sites.
Artstor/JSTOR Digital Library
The Artstor Digital Library is a database of high quality images for use in the humanities.
Images are also accessible through the JSTOR platform. Spring 2024 this database will relocate to the "J" page and accessible through JSTOR.

Classical Research Centre and the Beazley Archive
Images from the Beasley's vast collections of photographs of ancient Greek painted pottery; the site also includes databases with images ofgem engravings, Etruscan and Central Italian architectural terracottas, Attic vase inscriptions, plastercasts and more.
From the Classical Art Research Centre and Beazley Archive, University of Oxford.
Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology Online Collections
The Peabody's online collections include over 600,000 records and 300,000 photographs and cover North, Central, and South America; there are also materials from Africa, Europe, and Asia. Many images from the Peabody are in ARTstor.

Perseus Digital Library
Digital library of resources related to ancient Greece, including images, reference tools, Greek and Latin texts, and more.

Contact Information