Research Guides: Writing 101: Homer: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to the course guide for WRI 101: Homer

In-class activities:
Digital Library Scavenger Hunt

Are one, none, or both of these articles scholarly?
O Brother: A Paean to Americana
Homer Meets the Coen Brothers

Find Scholarly Criticism:

ProQuest Research Tools
Multidisciplinary collection of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and more. Search includes all of the Davidson College Library ProQuest databases.
Ebsco Research Tools
Search across most EbscoHost article databases as well as the Ebsco e-book collection; interdisciplinary in scope. Note: this search excludes America: History & Life, Historical Abstracts, and L'Année philologique.
Includes:
--Academic Search Complete
--Anthropology Plus
--Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective: 1913-1983
--Art Full Text
--Art Index Retrospective
--ATLA Religion Database
--Biography Index Retrospective: 1946-1983
--Biography Reference Bank
--Book Review Digest Plus
--Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982
--Communication & Mass Media Complete
--EconLit
--Essay and General Literature Retrospective
--Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983
--Film & Television Literature Index
--GreenFILE
--Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
--Index Islamicus
--Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text
--Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
--Music Index Full Text
--Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981
--International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
--MLA International Bibliography
--eBook Collection
--OmniFile Full Text Mega
--PsycARTICLES
--PsycINFO
--Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
--RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
--Short Story Index Retrospective: 1915-1983
JSTOR
JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. Includes ArtStor licensed images.

Davidson Library Catalog: Book Search

Find Movie Reviews:

Access World News
Contains diverse global, local, regional, and national newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, videos, periodicals, and web-only content.
Includes electronic access to the Charlotte Observer (1886-present), in addition to many local North Carolina newspapers.

ProQuest Newsstand
Full text articles from over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs . Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and other national and regional titles.

Historical Newspapers
Includes full-text coverage of US newspapers listed below, with the earliest starting in the late 19th century and many continuing through the 20th century.
Davidson has purchased perpetual access to:
The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010)
The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
Chicago Defender (1909-2010)
Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832 - 1953)
Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
The New York Times with Index (1851-2020)
Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010)
Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
The Wall Street Journal (1889-2013)
The Washington Post (1877-2008)

Looking for a specific journal or newspaper?

Search the title in Journal Finder to find out which database contains it.

Writing 101: Homer

Ask Us

Citation management

Librarian

Welcome!

Find Scholarly Criticism:

Davidson Library Catalog: Book Search

Find Movie Reviews:

Looking for a specific journal or newspaper?

Citing Sources