Research Guides: Writing 101: Genius: Home

Navigation

Looking for a specific journal or newspaper?

Search the title in Journal Finder to find out which database contains it.

Citation management

Access Zotero Zotero Guide

Find Articles - Multidisciplinary Databases

ProQuest Research Tools
Multidisciplinary collection of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and more. Search includes all of the Davidson College Library ProQuest databases.
Web of Science
An interdisciplinary resource with journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Access is restricted to current faculty and staff and currently-enrolled students of Davidson College only.
JSTOR
JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. Includes ArtStor licensed images.

Find Articles - Subject-Specific Databases

Art Abstracts & Art Index Retrospective
Art Index Retrospective is an archive index chronicling over a half a century of art literature.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Citations to articles from journals covering the fields of communication studies, journalism, and mass media.
Music Index with Full Text
In addition to full-text journals, includes reviews of performances as well as reviews of sound recordings and videos.
PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online
An index of philosophy journal articles, books, book chapters, and reviews.

Davidson College also has the following Philosophy Documentation Center titles: Augustinian Studies (1970-present), The Journal of Philosophy (1921-present), The Journal of Philosophy, Psychology and Scientific Methods (1904-1920), Environmental Ethics (1979-present).
PsycINFO
This database contains peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Sociological Abstracts
Citations to articles in sociology and social and behavioral sciences journals; also indexes reviews, monographs, and conference reports.

Looking for an another type of subject-specific database?
Check out our A-Z list of databases and filter using the Subjects drop-down menu!

Databases with Multimodal Sources

JSTOR
JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. Includes ArtStor licensed images.
Associated Press Images Collection (EBSCO)
The Associated Press Images Collection™ is a primary source database of photographs from the Associated Press (AP). Updated daily.
Photographs and graphics from AP Images cannot be sold, syndicated, loaned or used for advertising or for trade without the written consent of AP. In addition, users cannot republish any of the photographs on a Web page.
Kanopy
Kanopy streaming service offers movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic, and Independent films. Davidson College students, faculty, and staff have unmediated access to certain collections within the Kanopy platform. For a list of titles already licensed by Davidson, please see the Kanopy tab within the How to Find Videos Research Guide.
A one-year license is purchased upon the 4th view of a title for 30 seconds or longer, this license is $135. For mediated collections, faculty can request immediate purchase of required films for a course on the Kanopy platform.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection
Find documentaries and educational videos on many subjects. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning content.
Films on Demand offers many titles that are not easily discoverable in the Library's catalog. Search the provider's platform for best results.
Public Performance Rights are included with all Films on Demand titles for no charge viewings.

Davidson Library Catalog: Book Search

Chicago/Turabian Style

Chicago style has two versions:

Notes & Bibliography, which has footnotes instead of in-text citations.
Author & Date, which uses in-text citations.

Turabian style is based on Chicago style, but has simpler rules for structuring citations.

Formatting Notes (Chicago and Turabian Notes & Bibliography)

A note uses a footnote to indicate a citation. For example: a behavioral antiracist is "one who is making racial group behavior fictional and individual behavior real."¹

1. Ibram X. Kendi, How to Be an Antiracist (One world, 2019), 92.

Formatting In-Text Citations (Chicago and Turabian Author/Date)

The in-text citation lists the author's last name, publication date, and page number. Like so: a behavioral antiracist is "one who is making racial group behavior fictional and individual behavior real" (Kendi 2019, 92).

Quick Citation Rules

Chicago Style (18th Ed) Quick Guide
Covers examples of citations for various sources in both Notes & Bibliography and Author/Date.
Turabian Style Quick Guide

Full Citation Guides

The Chicago Manual of Style
Call Number: Online
A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian
Call Number: LB2369 .T8 1996

Strategies to Avoid Plagiarism

Note-Taking Tips
Provides strategies for taking notes while writing to keep track of your sources and avoid plagiarizing
Save and Cite with Zotero
Provides instructions for setting up Zotero, a tool for saving and citing sources
Annotate with Hypothesis
Introduces Hypothes.is, a free, online annotation tool

Librarian

Cara Evanson

Email Me