Research Guides: Writing 101: Friendship: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to the course guide for WRI 101: Friendship

Find Scholarly Sources

Multidisciplinary databases:

ProQuest Research Tools
Multidisciplinary collection of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and more. Search includes all of the Davidson College Library ProQuest databases.
Ebsco Research Tools
Search across most EbscoHost article databases as well as the Ebsco e-book collection; interdisciplinary in scope. Note: this search excludes America: History & Life, Historical Abstracts, and L'Année philologique.
Includes:
--Academic Search Complete
--Anthropology Plus
--Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective: 1913-1983
--Art Full Text
--Art Index Retrospective
--ATLA Religion Database
--Biography Index Retrospective: 1946-1983
--Biography Reference Bank
--Book Review Digest Plus
--Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982
--Communication & Mass Media Complete
--EconLit
--Essay and General Literature Retrospective
--Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983
--Film & Television Literature Index
--GreenFILE
--Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
--Index Islamicus
--Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text
--Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
--Music Index Full Text
--Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981
--International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
--MLA International Bibliography
--eBook Collection
--OmniFile Full Text Mega
--PsycARTICLES
--PsycINFO
--Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
--RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
--Short Story Index Retrospective: 1915-1983
JSTOR
JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. Includes ArtStor licensed images.

Subject-specific databases:

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
The Modern Language Association International Bibliography covers scholarship in a broad range of Humanities disciplines related to global literature's and languages.
Historical Abstracts, and America: History & Life
Citations to articles, book chapters, book reviews, and more.
Historical Abstracts covers world history from 1450 to the present; America:History & Life covers the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to present. Search is for both by default, you can choose one or the other.
ProQuest Religion
This database provides a wide range of periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
Includes citations to journal articles, books, essays, and doctoral dissertations on all aspects of theatre and the performing arts; international in scope. Includes full text articles for many of the most used journals.
PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online
An index of philosophy journal articles, books, book chapters, and reviews.

Davidson College also has the following Philosophy Documentation Center titles: Augustinian Studies (1970-present), The Journal of Philosophy (1921-present), The Journal of Philosophy, Psychology and Scientific Methods (1904-1920), Environmental Ethics (1979-present).

Davidson Library Catalog: Book Search

Chicago Style

Chicago style has two versions:

For this class you will use Notes & Bibliography, which has footnotes instead of in-text citations

Formatting Notes (Chicago Notes & Bibliography)

A note uses a footnote to indicate a citation. For example: a behavioral antiracist is "one who is making racial group behavior fictional and individual behavior real."¹

1. Ibram X. Kendi, How to Be an Antiracist (One world, 2019), 92.

Quick Citation Rules

Chicago Style (17th Ed) Quick Guide
Covers examples of citations for various sources in both Notes & Bibliography and Author/Date.
Turabian Style Quick Guide

Full Citation Guide

The Chicago Manual of Style
Call Number: Online

Writing 101: Friendship

Librarian

Not sure if what you're looking at is peer-reviewed or in a humanities subject area?

Looking for a specific journal?

Citation management

Ask Us