Digitized primary sources from medieval manuscripts to 20th century global politics. Please note that access to AM Explorer Interface will be discontinued December 31. 2024. See full list of AM collections owned in perpetuity by selected Adam Matthew Digital in the filter above.
Research a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender.
Includes Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Parts I & II, and the Archives of Sexuality & Gender: Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century
Search across all Gale primary source collections.
Includes:
• 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection
• 19th Century UK Periodicals
• American Fiction, 1774-1920
• Archives Unbound
• Archives of Sexuality & Gender
• Associated Press Collections Online
• Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture
• British Library Newspapers
• China from Empire to Republic
• Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture 1790-1920
• Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004
• Eighteenth Century Collections Online
• Indigenous Peoples: North America
• Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950
• Nineteenth Century Collections Online
• Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
• Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957
• Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992
• Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
• Smithsonian Collections Online
• The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2012
• The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010
• The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
• The Independent Digital Archive, 1986-2012
• The Listener Historical Archive 1929-1991
• The Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources
• The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926
• The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926
• The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources
• The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926
• The Making of the Modern World
• The Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006
• The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000
• The Times Digital Archive, 1822-2021
• Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2019
• U.S. Declassified Documents Online
This database includes both the perspective of the Communist Party during the Soviet era and of Russia’s conservative-nationalist opposition in articles published after the dissolution of the Soviet Union.
Articles published by Pravda, the official news source of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union from 1959 to 1996, collected and translated into English by the CIA.
(in Russian but site can be translated) The INION RAS bibliographic databases on social and human sciences have been formed since the mid-1980s. The total volume of arrays is almost 4 million records (data as of January 31, 2020), new data are added annually...
(site can be translated into English) The site is dedicated to Russian literature of the 20th century and presents fiction and other texts of this time, publications, as well as research, reference materials, etc...
The YIVO Archives and Library represent the single largest and most comprehensive collection of materials on East European Jewish civilization in the world. Many of the most important scholarly works on modern Jewish history could not have been written without YIVO’s collections...
The digital collection consists chiefly of summary transcripts of 705 interviews conducted with refugees from the USSR during the early years of the Cold War. A unique source for the study of Soviet society between 1917 and the mid-1940s, the HPSSS includes vast amounts of one-of-a-kind data on political, economic, social and cultural conditions...
The Harriman Institute offers a number of programs for students interested in Russia, Eurasia, and Eastern Europe, including a Master of Arts in Regional Studies (MARS-REERS) through the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences. The MARS-REERS degree program focuses on a multidisciplinary approach to the study of contemporary Russia, Eurasia, and Eastern Europe...
The American Jewish Historical Society's Archive of the American Soviet Jewry Movement is comprised of dozens of unique archival collections, audio and video files, photographs, and museum objects. This research guide was created to bring all of these amazing materials together to facilitate more concise, efficient research.
Established in 1892, AJHS is the oldest ethnic, cultural archive in the United States, providing access to more than 30 million documents, 50,000 books, photographs, artwork, audio-visual material, and artifacts that reflect the history of the Jewish presence in the United States from 1654 to the present...
George Kennan (1845-1924), American journalist, lecturer, and author, is best-known for his writings on Russia. He traveled extensively in Siberia from 1865-1867 with a Western Union telegraph surveying party, and again in 1885-1886 to research the Imperial Russian exile and prison systems...
The Digital National Security Archive is an invaluable online collection of more than 100,000 declassified records documenting historic U.S. policy decisions...
