These resources were used to guide the creation of title lists or may be helpful for digging deeper into retention/deselection considerations. Additional resources will be added during the project.
Book Review Digest: (1905 to present) Indexes and excerpts reviews of over 850,000 English-language books; covers both fiction and non-fiction.
Davidson College Course Schedule: Helpful for reviewing current/recent course descriptions to guide evaluation based on teaching/research needs.
Gold Rush Library Content Comparison System: Developed by the Colorado Alliance of Research Libraries, Gold Rush allows libraries to upload MARC records to conduct an internal or comparative analysis of their collections. This resource is part of our EAST membership and access is limited - please contact Matthew Ballard (maballard@davidson.edu) if you are interested in additional reports.
GreenGlass: Provides a snapshot of collections data that can be compared against other libraries and peer institutions. This tool was used to produce the spreadsheets for the project - included as part of our EAST membership.
JRNL (Journal Retention Needs Listing): Developed and maintained by the University of Florida Libraries, JRNL facilitates communication between library staff to identify holding commitments, facilitate deselection decisions, and fill gaps in print journal holdings.
PAPR Collection Comparison Tool: Allows libraries to upload lists of local records to generate a file of titles that overlap with other institutions' shared print commitments.
Resources for College Libraries: RCL helps libraries build and assess library collections by providing a list of core titles essential for undergraduate teaching and research. Co-published by ACRL’s Choice and ProQuest.
Rightsizing the Academic Library Collection: ALA Editions (2015). Provides guidance on mechanisms for stewarding academic library collections.
Weeding Communication in the Collections Lifecycle: Communication matrix and FAQs on weeding developed by the Rosemont Shared Print Alliance and the Partnership for Shared Book Collections.
Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under
CC BY-SA 4.0.
Mailing Address: Davidson College - E.H. Little Library, 209 Ridge Road, Box 5000, Davidson, NC 28035