(Coverage varies by country) Provides access to the full-text of patents from most western European (EP) countries; also includes patents from the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), Japan (PAJ), and other countries, including the United States and Canada.
Use SciFinder-n to authoritatively identify a chemical substance and its related chemical structures, chemical names, regulatory information, and properties, including CAS Registry Numbers®, reaction schemes, step-by-step experimental procedures, detailed conditions, and product yields. CAS SciFinder-n covers the scientific literature from chemistry and beyond (e.g., engineering, medicine, materials), including all of the biomedical literature in PubMed (from the National Center for Biotechnology Information), and new Biosequence Searching relevant to biologists.
Registration required for first time users, see SciFinder Registration in the A-Z database list.
Use of SciFinder-n is restricted to current faculty and staff and currently-enrolled students of Davidson College. SciFinder-n cannot be used for any commercial purposes.
(1790 to present) Digital page images for all U.S. patents from 1790 onwards as well as the full text of U.S. patents issued from 1976 to the present and the full-text of U.S. patent applications from 15 March 2001 to the present. For patents before 1976, you can only search by patent number or patent classification.
Note: When you have located a patent and want to view the actual page images, click on the "Images" button that appears at the top of the screen. You may need to download a free plug-in to view the page images.