Public Health

The landing page for all data and statistics compiled and created by the CDC. Also see the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report.

Organizes statistics and statistical sources by subject area. An excellent place to browse for health data topics.

Searchable database of CDC data.

Provides information about programs and services, grants and contracts, and laws and regulations.

Creates and organizes US government information and services related to health.

The County Health Rankings & Roadmaps program is a collaboration between the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute. The annual County Health Rankings measure vital health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income inequality, and teen births in nearly every county in America.

KFF (Kaiser Family Foundation) is a nonprofit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy.

Datasets about US health at the state level. Includes information on topics like health coverage/gaps and medicare.

The Profiles Web site brings together data that are collected from public health surveillance systems by using either their published reports or public use files. The data may appear dated but it is the most recent that has completed the national data synthesis and quality assurance processes.

A database created by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality that tracks states' public health progress.

Created by the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services. State-wide and county case counts and incidence rates for all reportable infectious diseases are available on this interactive dashboard.

Created by East Carolina University. The Simple Map allows the user to profile a county and compare counties on over 100 different indicators. The user can map different data indicators for all the counties in North Carolina by clicking on the "select data" button. Users can also screen for regions of the state by clicking on the "filter by region" button.

Looks at the conditions in which people live, work, play, and worship and how they influence health and quality of life.

The State Center for Health Statistics is committed to supplying health statistics that can inform state and county health policies and programs. Many of our annual publications contain statistics at the county level. In addition, we frequently generate special studies and reports which feature county-level estimates.

Provides world health indicators from countries who are members of the World Health Organization (194 countries).

Data collected by the Population Reference Bureau, a non-profit organization which collects information related to global health, population, and environment.

A collection of data complied by the World Health Organization, an agency of the United Nations dedicated to issues surrounding global public health.

US Government agency in charge of supplying nations with foreign aid. This priority often intersects with global health.

Progress-reports on the United Nation's sustainable development goals. These goals are formed to "promote prosperity while protecting the planet."

Contains official statistics produced by countries as well as statistics, estimates, projections, indicators, and other data from United Nations Statistics and Population Divisions and other United Nations agencies. Subjects covered include agriculture, crime, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population, and tourism.

Tracks data related to global health and demographics, such as census reports, vitals statistics, and surveys. Supported by the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME).