Over 200,000 e-books published by academic, trade, and professional publishers; covers all subject areas. Includes tools that allow you to create your own virtual bookshelf, bookmark pages, and add and save notes and highlights. Some titles can be downloaded for short-term use; some allow chapter downloads. Limitations on copying, saving, and printing vary by title, and reset after 24 hours. To locate ebooks without user limitations use the Advanced Search option. Near the end of the page, you'll find a field for "Number of Copies." Select "More Than 1" or "Unlimited."
Over 200,000 ebooks in a wide variety of subject areas. Limitations on printing, downloading, saving vary by title. Create your own EBSCOhost account to add notes, virtual bookmarks, and download ebooks to read them offline To download, Adobe Digital Editions software is required, and books are only available offline for short-term loans.
To read online, if an eBook is left “open” in a browser window but is no longer being used, then the eBook becomes available to other users after the last user’s EBSCOhost session expires (30 minutes, by default) and the system confirms that they haven’t used the title in 5 minutes (for a total of up to 35 minutes).
1-user and 3-user ebooks allow limited access to the ebook and this varies by the license allowed by the publisher.
For ebooks we have licensed for 1-User or 3-User the checkout time is 1 day. Please check back for your selected title, the library is not able to determine when an ebook will be accessible.
(Historical time period: 1450 to present; Publication coverage: 1954 to present). Citations to articles, book chapters, book reviews, and more. America:History & Life covers the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to present; Historical Abstracts covers world history from 1450 to the present.
Search across most EbscoHost article databases as well as the Ebsco e-book collection; interdisciplinary in scope. Note: this search excludes America: History & Life, Historical Abstracts, and L'Année philologique.
Includes:
--Academic Search Complete
--Anthropology Plus
--Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective: 1913-1983
--Art Full Text
--Art Index Retrospective
--ATLA Religion Database
--Biography Index Retrospective: 1946-1983
--Biography Reference Bank
--Book Review Digest Plus
--Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982
--Communication & Mass Media Complete
--EconLit
--Essay and General Literature Retrospective
--Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983
--Film & Television Literature Index
--GreenFILE
--Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
--Index Islamicus
--Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text
--Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
--Music Index Full Text
--Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981
--International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
--MLA International Bibliography
--eBook Collection
--OmniFile Full Text Mega
--PsycARTICLES
--PsycINFO
--Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
--RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
--Short Story Index Retrospective: 1915-1983
Now our largest collection of full-text article databases!
(c. 1800 to present) Multidisciplinary collection of full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and more. Also contains citations to additional materials. Includes all of our ProQuest databases.
(c. 1900 to present) An interdisciplinary resource with over 20,000 scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, also navigate the full citation network.
Access is restricted to current faculty and staff and currently-enrolled students of Davidson College only.
(1743 to present) Over 3.8 million citations to doctoral dissertations and masters theses from North America; over 2.1 million of these (most dating from 1997 to present) are available full text. Also includes a growing number of dissertations from international universities, including University College London, the London School of Economics and Political Science, and the Universities of Aberdeen, Bath, Cardiff, Leicester, and Valencia.
A multi-disciplinary resource, this is a set of collections that cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Particular strengths include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history.
Primary sources, unpublished historical documents from private and governmental collections.
Black Culture Collection [microfilm]
Thousands of books, pamphlets, speeches, and more from the Slaughter Collection in the Trevor-Arnett Library at Atlanta University. The library has:
The black experience in South America and the West Indies (reels 600-633)
Includes works on slavery in South America and the West Indies.
Slavery in history (reels 634-652)
Includes slave records, memoirs, British House of Commons evidence for the abolition of slavery, and information on slavery in Britain and France.
Main Library Microform Cabinet C-7 (see the Library Catalog)
WHERE TO FIND: Main Library Reference Stacks R 016.972 A881b
(1490-1896) 5.4 million cross-searchable pages: 12049 books, 170 serials, 71 manuscript collections, 377 supreme court records and briefs and 194 reference articles from Macmillan, Charles Scribner's Sons and Gale encyclopedias.
Links to websites, biographies, chronology, bibliographies, and information on key collections, to give users background and context for further research. Includes: Part 1: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part 2: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part 3: The Institution of Slavery; Part 4: The Age of Emancipation.
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database now comprises 36,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866. Records of the voyages have been found in archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world. They provide information about vessels, routes, and the people associated with them, both enslaved and enslavers. Sources are cited for every voyage included. Users may search for information about a specific voyage or group of voyages. The website provides full interactive capability to analyze the data and report results in the form of statistical tables, graphs, maps, a timeline, and an animation.
The National Endowment for the Humanities was the principal sponsor of this work carried out at Emory Center for Digital Scholarship, the University of California at Irvine, and the University of California at Santa Cruz. The Hutchins Center of Harvard University has also provided support.
Explore more than 86,000 African Heritage site objects including scholarly research, books, historical and recent documents, maps, site plans or diagrams, and photographs and slides. Spatial data includes 3D models and plans of structures and surrounding landscapes, geographic information systems (GIS), ground plans, façade views of structures, stereo and digital images, panorama images, and digital video of African Heritage sites.
(late 18th - early 19th centuries) Primary and secondary sources related to slavery in the Francophone world; special focus on women writers in France. Also includes links to other Web sites. Created by Doris Y. Kadish at the University of Georgia.
(15th century - 1945) Over 900 books, 80 maps, 6,500 photographs, and 30 journals covering the history of Africa and the relationship between Africans and Europeans, including the slave trade, and colonization; includes works by explorers, anthropologists, soldiers and sailors, colonial administrators, missionaries, and others. Most works are in French. Part of Gallica, from the Bibliothèque nationale de France.
(1545-1900) Over 26,000 pamphlets on a wide variety of political, economic, social, environmental, and technological developments, issues and reforms; these publications played an important role in nineteenth-century public debates. Select "Narrow by: Pamphlets" to limit your results to this collection. Throughout the 19th century, pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day. 19th Century British Pamphlets contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in research libraries in the United Kingdom.
Organized in 9 collections: Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet Collection, Manchester Selected Pamphlets, Selections from the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE), Selections from the University of Bristol, and the Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection.
An integrated research environment that allows users to search across all of their Gale primary source collections. Through intuitive subject-indexing users will discover new material even in the most familiar of content sets. Includes digital facsimiles of books, manuscripts, some newspapers, photographs, and more.
Includes:
• 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection
• 19th Century UK Periodicals
• American Fiction, 1774-1920
• Archives Unbound
• Archives of Sexuality & Gender
• Associated Press Collections Online
• Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture
• British Library Newspapers
• China from Empire to Republic
• Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture 1790-1920
• Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004
• Eighteenth Century Collections Online
• Indigenous Peoples: North America
• Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950
• Nineteenth Century Collections Online
• Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
• Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957
• Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992
• Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
• Smithsonian Collections Online
• The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2012
• The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010
• The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
• The Independent Digital Archive, 1986-2012
• The Listener Historical Archive 1929-1991
• The Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources
• The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926
• The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926
• The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources
• The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926
• The Making of the Modern World
• The Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006
• The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000
• The Times Digital Archive, 1822-2021
• Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2019
• U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Primary sources: United States & British North America
Thousands of primary sources, including books, pamphlets, articles, and illustrations related to the abolition of the transatlantic slave trade; also includes secondary sources and maps. From the he Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, New York Public Library.
African American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, 1827-1998, provides online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This unique collection, which includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states, features many rare 19th-century titles. Coverage spans life in the Antebellum South; the spread of abolitionism; growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the Great Migration to northern cities, the West and Midwest in search of greater opportunity; rise of the NAACP; the Harlem Renaissance; the civil rights movement; political and economic empowerment; and more.
Part of the America’s Historical Newspapers collection and the Archive of Americana.
A rich collection of primary sources related to U.S. history and culture; materials are drawn from the Library of Congress and other research libraries. Includes digitized manuscripts, government documents, pamphlets, and books as well as photographs, prints, maps, sheet music, video clips, and sound files. The Library believes that this content is either in the public domain, has no known copyright, or has been cleared by the copyright owner for public use.
This collection is public domain and are not protected by copyright
Full text of over 2,000 slave narratives; some have audio recordings. The oral histories were collected between 1936 and 1938 as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Work Progress Administration (WPA).
This collection contains the full text of The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography, edited by George P. Rawick (1972), along with the 1997 index by Howard E. Potts.
The digital Archive of Americana is a family of comprehensive historical collections that allows researchers to discover and explore the United States in unprecedented depth and detail.
This archive searches many historical collections that contain books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over centuries.
Includes:
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
African History and Culture, 1540-1921
Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922
America's Historical Imprints
America's Historical Newspapers
American State Papers, 1789-1838
Black Authors, 1556-1922
Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
House and Senate Journals, Series I, 1789-1817
Senate Executive Journals, 1789 - 1980
The Civil War: Antebellum Period to Reconstruction, 1840-1877
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817 - 1994
Black Abolitionist Papers, 1830-1865 [microfilm]
Over 15,000 articles, essays, letters, lectures, manuscripts, sermons, speeches, and literary works from nearly 300 black abolitionists in the U.S., Canada, England, Scotland, Ireland, France, and Germany. Topics covered include Northern / Southern separation within the church, colonization and emigration, political action, church support of black educational institutions, and African American intellectual and social life.
WHERE TO FIND: Main Library Microform Cabinet C-7
A growing collection of online resources associated with race and slavery in the American South. Includes: The Race and Slavery Petitions Project, North Carolina Runaway Slave Advertisements project, and records from the Buncombe County Register of Deeds office. From the University Libraries, University of North Carolina at Greensboro.
A collection of primary sources on Southern history, culture, and literature from the colonial period through the early twentieth century. Includes diaries, first-person narratives, literary works, photographs, and other materials. From the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Over 200 anti-slavery documents including speeches, letters, cartoons and graphics, interviews, and articles. From the Gilder Lehrman Center, Yale University.
Papers of the Pennsylvania Abolition Society: 1775-1975 [microfilm]
Contains the official records and papers of the Pennsylvania Abolition Society (PAS), established Philadelphia Quakers in 1775, and fifteen related organizations; includes minutes, correspondence, financial papers, manumissions, indentures, legal papers, and other documents. Topics covered include anti-slavery legislation, the foreign slave trade, fugitive slaves, censuses of free black communities, and the Underground Railroad. The Historical Society of Pennsylvania has posted some documents online.
WHERE TO FIND: Main Library Microform Cabinet C-28
Guide: Reference Stacks R326 B941g
Slavery and Anti-Slavery Pamphlets from the Libraries of Salmon P. Chase and John P. Hale [microfilm]
(1840-1859) 166 pamphlets, speeches, reports, legal opinions, and convention proceedings on historical, legal, social, and religious issues related to slavery. Chief Justice Salmon P. Chase (1808-1873) and Senator John P. Hale (1806-1873) were active in the abolitionist movement.
Reel 1: Chase pamphlets: author index to Chase collection; vols. 1 & 2
Reel 2: Chase pamphlets: vols. 3 & 4
Reel 3: Chase pamphlets: vol. 5
Reel 4: Hale pamphlets: author index to Hale collection; vols. 1 & 2
Reel 5: Hale pamphlets: vols. 3 and 4
WHERE TO FIND: Main Library Microform Cabinet C-32
(1775-1867) Includes cases and petitions on slavery that were made to state legislatures and county courthouses. Also contains state statutes on slavery and John Codman Hurd's The Law of Freedom and Bondage in the United States. Part of ProQuest History Vault.
Covers business records (ledgers, accounting books, receipts, and work rules) and personal papers (diaries, correspondences, and wills) from plantations in the American South. Part of ProQuest History Vault.
Primary sources: United States statistical & Census data
Full text family and local histories drawn from over 25,000 books, the U.S. Federal Census (1790-1940), and other collections as well as images of selected records from the Revolutionary War Era Pension & Bounty-Land Warrant Application Files. Also indexes over 6,500 genealogy and local history periodicals published since 1800.
Historical U.S. Census data (1790-2010) and demographic information from the annual updates of the American Community Survey and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (1980-2000). Also provides tools for creating maps and reports that allow you to visualize and analyze the data.
Covers more than 19,000 prominent U.S. men and women from all periods of history. Excludes living people.
The bibliographies are great tools for finding primary and secondary sources; they contain information about published and unpublished primary sources and evaluative comment on notable secondary sources.
Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. A good source for background information. Download, print, or email as many chapters as you like. You can even send chapters to your Google or Microsoft account.
Full-text biographies, critical essays, journal articles, and excerpts of criticism and reviews; covers dramatists, essayists, novelists, poets, and other writers from all time periods. Researchers can find up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.
Includes Contemporary Authors, The Dictionary of Literary Biography, and substantial portions of Gale's other literature criticism series, including the Scribner Writers Series. Also includes the Gale's Literary Index and the Encyclopedia of Literature.
Grove Art Online is a scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. Searchable on the Oxford Art Online platform offers authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources within the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Updated regularly.
