This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Research Guides" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Guides  

Subject guides, research tools, course guides, tips, tutorials, and more, created by Davidson librarians.
Last Updated: Sep 3, 2014 URL: http://davidson.libguides.com/home Print Guide RSS Updates
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Teachers: click here for the CTI library research guide containing book, article, and video databases.

 

@DavidsonCollLib

 

Research Rescue

Research Rescue!

Drowning in databases? Feeling frustrated? Not sure where to look for good sources?

The librarians are staging a Research Rescue!

Drop by the Fishbowl for expert help:

Fall 2014 hours coming soon!

Popular research tools

Starting your research? Try the following; be sure to consult a subject guide too!

  • Davidson Library WorldCat
    Books, e-books, videos, periodicals, & federal government documents.
  • ebrary  
      
    Over 80,000 e-books; covers all subject areas. Many titles can be downloaded; see our guide to ebrary for more information.
  • Ebsco eBook Collection
    Over 113,000 ebooks in a wide variety of subject areas. Create your own Ebscohost account to add notes, virtual bookmarks, and downloaded ebooks to read them offline. See instructions on downloading ebooks to a desktop computer and downloading to an iPad. For more details, see our guide to using Ebsco ebooks.
  • Ebsco Research Tools  
      
    Search across most EbscoHost article databases as well as the Ebsco e-book collection; interdisciplinary in scope. Note: this search excludes America: History & Life, Historical Abstracts, L'Annee Philologique, and Philosopher's Index.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Over 1,000 reference e-books; good source for background information.
  • LexisNexis Academic  
      
    Full-text articles from local, national, and international newspapers & magazines; legal documents; & more.
  • ProQuest Research Tools  
      
    New content; now our largest full-text database!
    (c. 1800 to present) Multidisciplinary collection of full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and more. Also contains citations to additional materials. Includes all of our ProQuest databases.
  • Web of Knowledge  
      
    (c. 1900 to present) An interdisciplinary resource with citations to articles from over 12,000 journals and conference proceedings. Contains: Web of Science (1900 to present), Biosis Previews (1969 to present), Current Contents (1998 to present), Derwent Innovations Index (over 11 million patent records from 1963 to present), Medline, Zoological Record (1864 to present), and more.
    See search tips for more information.
 

Quick links

 

Citation management

Access RefWorks         RefWorks Guide

Access Zotero                 Zotero Guide

 

Questions? Need help?

Ask a Librarian!

 

Research Services:

Online Research Direction

Self-guided access to our subject guides, online tutorials, and online resources.

Peer Research Advising

Personal instruction from a Peer Research Advisor at the information desk. 

Research Librarian Guidance

Personal instruction from a Research Librarian. 

Research Rescue

Personal instruction in a group setting from Peer Research Advisors and Research Librarians in the Fishbowl. 

Scheduled Consultations

Dedicated and in-depth personal instruction from a Research Librarian.

Note: If you are not affiliated with the college, research help may be limited. We can always help with U.S. Government information, federal government documents on deposit in our library, and materials that are unique to Davidson College.

 

Search research guides

 

See also:
Browse all guides
A-Z list of research tools

Questions? Need help? Ask a Librarian
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip