Skip to main content

Alumni: Find Free & Open Information

Free & Open Resources

Your local public library system can offer a lot of information. This includes:

  • An Interlibrary Loan service (sometimes this is free, sometimes you have to a pay a fee)
  • Databases
  • Print books, magazines, and newspapers
  • Videos, music and audiobooks
  • eBooks and eMagazines (and sometimes eReaders and/or tablets)

Find out how to get a Charlotte-Mecklenberg Public Library Card here

NC Live is a great resource! It gives you free access to ebooks, audiobooks, videos, online magazines, newspapers, journals, and more. You can use NC Live through the public library system by attaining a library card. NC Live covers a wide range of subjects:

  • Books & Literature
  • Business & Management
  • Career, Jobs & Test Preparation
  • Current Issues
  • Data & Demographics
  • Education & Teacher Resources
  • Everything NC!
  • Genealogy & Historical Maps
  • Government & Law
  • Health & Wellness
  • History & Biography
  • Homework Help
  • Journals, Magazines, & Newspapers
  • Nursing & Allied Health
  • Philosophy & Religion
  • Psychology
  • Science & Technology

You can also chat with a librarian through NC Live if you need more help finding information. 

Looking for more scholarly information? Search for Open Access, free journal articles by using the Directory of Open Access Journals. You can access every article without paying a fee. Find a list of subject areas here.

Screenshot of the Directory of Open Access Journals

Think about this when you publish! Try to make your own work open so that others can access it. Learn more here.

Some vendors offer free versions of the popular databases they sell to libraries. This version, however, will usually have less information or less full-text information (i.e. it will only enable you to find the citation you need. It might not provide a PDF or the full text) than the version you're used to using. 

JSTOR offers a free version of their database, for example. If you'd like more in-depth access, you can pay a yearly or monthly fee.

Loading ...
Questions? Need help? Ask a Librarian
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com