Skip to Main Content

Writing 101: Justice and Piety

Fall 2024

Guide Contents

This guide provides resources that will be helpful for your Writing 101 Research Paper.

Identifying Scholarly Sources
Describes ways to distinguish a scholarly source from a popular source.
Finding Scholarly Sources
Lists recommended library tools for finding sources.
Citing Sources
Links to resources about different citation styles and practices.

Library Session Links and Handouts

WRI K Library Session Handout
An electronic version of the WRI 101 K Library Session, available as a Google Doc (requires Davidson Email log-in)
"Justice and the Fundamental Question of Plato's Republic"
"Lucretius: the Roman of Freethought"

For Exercise 2:

Oxford Bibliographies
A collection of online, annotated bibliographies and provides citations to the key literature on a topic.
The library has the following collections:
--African Studies
--Art History
--Atlantic History
--Biblical Studies
--Chinese Studies
--Cinema and Media Studies
--Classics
--Islamic Studies
--Latin American Studies
--Latino Studies
--Psychology
--Public Health
--Renaissance and Reformation

Davidson Library Catalog

JSTOR
JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. Includes ArtStor licensed images.
ProQuest Research Tools
Multidisciplinary collection of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and more. Search includes all of the Davidson College Library ProQuest databases.

Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0.

Mailing Address: Davidson College - E.H. Little Library, 209 Ridge Road, Box 5000, Davidson, NC 28035