Research Guides: Current Resource Trials: Home

Welcome

This page highlights current trials available through the Davidson College Library.

Throughout the academic year, the library runs trials for electronic resources allowing short term access to explore and evaluate for potential acquisition by the library. Vendors and publishers provide access to resources, generally 30 days, allowing researchers to evaluate the content and the platform to determine relevance in support of curriculum and research needs. Trials are accessible to Davidson College students, faculty, and staff.

Providing Trial Feedback

The quickest way to browse our electronic databases is through the A-Z database list. Trial resources are tagged with a "trial" label.

Feedback from requesting faculty is an important part of our assessment process and therefore required in order for the library to fully determine a resource’s value to the academic success of our students. Survey questions include evaluating the benefit of the content to our collection and ease of navigation on the platform. Additional comments including how the faculty will use the resource are beneficial to the evaluation process.

If you would like to set-up a training session for the resources, or if you have questions or ideas for us we would love to hear from you!

Kelly Denzer, Collections Strategist and Discovery Librarian, kedenzer@davidson.edu

Trial Feedback Form
Use this form to provide feedback on library trial resources. Available to all Davidson College staff, faculty, and students.

Active database trials

Historical Newspapers: The Times of India
Trial EXTENDED: trial end date May 31, 2024. This historical newspaper provides first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Recent Trials Now Expired - Feedback Requested

Africa Commons History and Culture
An index, search engine and preservation tool for more than 500,000 openly available books, magazines, and other primary sources.
Asian Life in America
A comprehensive collection that captures the full scope of the Asian American experience. Primary documents from diverse sources and perspectives, both historical and contemporary.
Black South African Magazines
The first and only digital collection of magazines created for Black audiences in Africa from 1937 to 1973.
Bloom's Literature Online
Bloom’s Literature is rich with relevant content on core authors and works, multicultural classics, contemporary literature, and more.
Feature Films for Education
The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. Brought to you in partnership with Criterion Pictures USA.
Policy Commons Global Think Tanks
A collection of objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, IGOs, and NGOs.
Policy Commons North American City Reports
Over 1.5 million pages of in-depth surveys, reports, and research from more than six hundred North American cities and urban agencies.
Policy Commons World Cities
Over 1.4 million rare and hard-to-find research reports from more than 160 countries.
South Asian History and Culture
A project to build the largest full text repository of quality South Asian books, magazines, reports, historical journals, video, audio, zines, newspapers, magazines, letters, diaries, and other primary source materials.
Southern African Films and Documentaries
Hundreds of African documentaries, oral histories, and other films for study and learning.
World Cinema Collection- Films on Demand
This unique collection includes the best of the silent era, groundbreaking international directors, masterpieces from the mid-20th century, and contemporary films from around the world, including Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, the Caribbean, the Middle East, and North America.
Writer's Reference Center
Writer’s Reference Center provides users with a convenient one-stop location for all of the tools necessary to write and research effectively.