Student Life Professional Development Resources: Journals and Magazines

We at About Campus feel strongly that in order to challenge and inspire our colleagues in higher education—and to address hard issues honestly and directly—we need to present the experience and knowledge of a unique mix of researchers, public figures, professionals, faculty members, students, and those working in both student affairs and academic affairs. Although you may recognize many of our contributors, we reach beyond widely published researchers and professionals to include the insights and perspectives of the many other practitioners who are thinking creatively about higher education, testing new ideas and practices, and assessing the effects of the policies put in place on our campuses. These articles aim to take a stand on how to advance our shared agenda of “enriching the student learning experience.”

Change, which is published six times a year, is a magazine dealing with contemporary issues in higher education. It is intended to stimulate and inform reflective practitioners in colleges, universities, foundations, government, and elsewhere. Using a magazine format rather than that of an academic journal, Change spotlights trends; provides new insights and ideas; and analyzes the implications of educational programs, policies, and practices.

Current and back issues of the Chronicle of Higher Education as well as daily updates, the annual Almanac, web extras and updates, and much more. Create an account using your Davidson email address.

With more than 30 years of experience covering education, Diverse is the only newsmagazine focusing on matters of access and opportunity for all in higher education. Its unparalleled coverage of issues surrounding topics such as tenure, salary, faculty, students, recruitment, retention and access and equity earned Diverse the 2002 Folio Award for best education publication in America. And as our communities have grown more diverse, so, too, has our editorial focus. Launched in 1984 as Black Issues In Higher Education, the magazine focused on the role of and issues pertaining to African-Americans in higher education. To better reflect inclusivity and America’s changing demographics, in 2005 we renamed the magazine Diverse: Issues In Higher Education, and expanded coverage to address issues that affect Asian Americans, Hispanics/Latinos, American Indians, people with disabilities, seniors, LGBTQIA, veterans and other underrepresented groups in higher education.

Journal of College Student Development (JCSD), the largest and leading source of research about college students and the field of student affairs, publishes scholarly articles and reviews from a wide range of academic fields. Since 1959, scholars in student affairs, higher education, sociology, psychology, social work, nursing, business administration, and health sciences have been finding their voice with JCSD. Journal of College Student Development is the official journal of the American College Personnel Association (ACPA).

Founded in 1930, The Journal of Higher Education is the leading scholarly journal on the institution of higher education. Articles combine disciplinary methods with critical insight to investigate issues important to faculty, administrators, and program managers.

Liberal Education, the flagship journal of the Association of American Colleges and Universities, expresses the voices of educators, faculty, administrators, and others who are working to enrich liberal learning and undergraduate education. The national forum about liberal education, the journal covers a full range of topics related to teaching and learning, leadership, faculty innovation, and institutional change. Both theoretical and practical articles can be found in the various sections of each issue, providing the latest research and the best thinking about liberal learning and featuring best practices at public and private colleges, community colleges, and universities of every type and size.

This concise quarterly journal covers the latest developments in higher education. Each volume in the series is a completely self-contained, fully indexed and edited collection featuring contributions from some of the top scholars in the field. Addressed to presidents, vice presidents, deans, and other higher education decision-makers on all types of campuses, New Directions for Higher Education provides timely information and authoritative advice about major problems and administrative issues confronting every institution.

Launched in 1978, New Directions for Student Services combines knowledge from current research and theories with the best thinking about practice to address issues of concern and interest to those who work with – or have responsibility for policies and programs regarding – college students. This quarterly publication is filled with the latest research on student services in higher education. Each volume in the series is a completely self-contained, fully indexed edited collection featuring contributions from some of the top minds in the field.

Peer Review provides a quarterly briefing on emerging trends and key debates in undergraduate education. Each issue focuses on a specific topic, provides comprehensive analysis, and features campus perspectives. The peer review process has long been the academy’s means of ensuring high-quality research, teaching, programs, accreditation, and other key areas. With this quarterly, AAC&U not only invokes this standard of quality but also embraces a more inclusive definition of the academic community. Every quarter, Peer Review brings together a broad range of contributors and readers—including anyone who wishes to participate in improving the quality of undergraduate education.

The Review of Higher Education provides a forum for discussion of varied issues affecting higher education. The journal advances the study of college- and university-related topics through peer-reviewed articles, essays, reviews and research findings, and by emphasizing systematic inquiry--both quantitative and qualitative--and practical implications. Considered one of the leading research journals in the field, The Review keeps scholars, academic leaders, and public policymakers abreast of critical issues facing higher education today. The Review of Higher Education is the official journal of the Association for the Study of Higher Education (ASHE).

Diversity & Democracy (2003-2020) focused on the design and implementation of programs that advance civic learning and democratic engagement, global learning, and engagement with diversity to prepare students for socially responsible action in an interdependent but unequal world. Issues featured evidence, research, and exemplary campus practices.

Education, Citizenship and Social Justice provides a strategic forum for international and multi-disciplinary dialogue for all academic educators and educational policy-makers concerned with the meanings and form of citizenship and social justice as these are realised throughout the time spent in educational institutions.

MJCSL is an open-access journal focusing on research, theory, pedagogy, and other matters related to academic service-learning, campus-community partnerships, and engaged/public scholarship in higher education.

Undergraduate Journal of Service Learning and Community-Based Research is a refereed, multi-disciplinary, online undergraduate journal dedicated to publishing exceptional intellectual and reflective work by undergraduates on service learning and community-based research and all related curriculum- and/or research-based public community engagement activities. Published work will advance knowledge in these subject areas. The editorial team of Undergraduate Journal of Service Learning and Community-Based Research encourages undergraduates to pursue their own intellectual projects and to join the academic conversation.

The Chaplaincy Innovation Lab publishes working papers on a growing variety of topics as part of its commitment to research and disseminating research findings. These resources are offered freely for use by all; when comment periods are open, a form is provided on the working paper’s individual page, linked below. Our working papers are drafted by CIL staff, partners, supporters, and experts in their field.

With more than 30 years of experience covering education, Diverse is the only newsmagazine focusing on matters of access and opportunity for all in higher education. Its unparalleled coverage of issues surrounding topics such as tenure, salary, faculty, students, recruitment, retention and access and equity earned Diverse the 2002 Folio Award for best education publication in America. And as our communities have grown more diverse, so, too, has our editorial focus. Launched in 1984 as Black Issues In Higher Education, the magazine focused on the role of and issues pertaining to African-Americans in higher education. To better reflect inclusivity and America’s changing demographics, in 2005 we renamed the magazine Diverse: Issues In Higher Education, and expanded coverage to address issues that affect Asian Americans, Hispanics/Latinos, American Indians, people with disabilities, seniors, LGBTQIA, veterans and other underrepresented groups in higher education.

Interfaith America was founded in 2002 based on the idea that religious difference should serve as a bridge of cooperation rather than a barrier of division. The magazine contains inspiring interfaith stories from our religiously diverse democracy.

A quarterly publication of the National Association of Diversity Officers in Higher Education, the Journal of Diversity in Higher Education disseminates research findings, theory and promising practices which guide the efforts of institutions of higher education in the pursuit of inclusive excellence. Multidisciplinary in perspective, the Journal includes empirical research, policies, commentaries and critiques, and book reviews that support efforts to transform institutions, inspire colleagues, and engage campus, governmental and private sector leaders to articulate culturally sound outcomes.

The Journal of Research in International Education is an international, peer-reviewed journal in international education for schools, examiners and higher education institutions throughout the world.

The Journal of Studies in International Education (JSIE) is the premiere forum for higher education leaders, administrators, educators, researchers and policy makers interested in all facets of the internationalization of higher education.

Research in Comparative and International Education is concerned with research and its methods. It seeks to publish papers of between 5,000 and 10,000 words which report new research in the field of comparative and international education, broadly defined, or which address theoretical and methodological issues in comparative and international education with clear research relevance.

The purpose of this journal is to provide public-oriented content written for practitioners and to represent the scholarship of our membership. This includes methodological research, poetry, liturgy, campus-wide faith services, art, case studies, and more. While we welcome research based writing, the main focus of the journal is to provide relevant and replicable resources.

Journal of College Counseling is the official journal of the American College Counseling Association (ACCA). It advances the college counseling research base and informs the practice of counselors working in higher education settings.

Psychology Today was known for its authoritative translational science writing, inviting individuals and luminaries in the field of psychology to write about their own work and that of others in a way that is accessible to lay readers.

JOLE engages practitioners, professionals, and scholars who focus in the leadership education and development industry spanning education, training and development, and corporate education. JOLE fosters dialogue across industries focused on the learning process and the practice of leadership education.

Through its print and online editions, The Bulletin provides insight into current research, highlights new trends and practices, and features union and professional profiles.