Research Guides: REL 177: Islamic Ethics: Reference Sources/Background

Translations of the Qur'an

The Qur'an by Muhammad A. S. Abdel Haleem (Translator)
ISBN: 0192805487
Publication Date: 2004
This new translation is written in a contemporary idiom that remains faithful to the original, making it easy to read while retaining its powers of eloquence.
The Koran Interpreted by A. J. Arberry (Editor)
Call Number: Stacks - Ground Floor ; BP109 .A7 1955
ISBN: 9780684825076
Publication Date: 1996
An English translation of the Muslim holy book portrays the spirit, rather than the exact context.

The Quranic Arabic Corpus
An annotated linguistic resource for the Holy Quran. This page shows seven parallel translations in English for the first verse of chapter 1 (sūrat l-fātiḥah). Click on the Arabic text to below to see word by word details of the verse's morphology.
Qur'an Explorer
A tool for learning and reciting the Qur'an

Dictionary of Qur'anic Usage
The Dictionary of Qur'anic Usage is the first comprehensive, fully-researched and contextualised Arabic-English dictionary of Qur'anic usage, compiled in accordance with modern lexicographical methods by scholars who have a lifelong immersion in Qur'anic Studies.
Encyclopaedia of the Qurʾān
The Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān Online is an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur’ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur’ānic studies. The Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān Online is the first comprehensive, multivolume reference work on the Qur’ān to appear in a Western language.

The Qur'an: an Encyclopedia by Oliver Leaman (Editor)
ISBN: 1134339747
Publication Date: 2006
Contains entries on the Qur'an, which are cross-referenced and many include a brief bibliography. At the end of the work there is a substantial annotated bibliography providing a detailed guide to the most significant books, journals and articles in Qur'anic Studies. There is a full index.

Brill's Qur'an Concordance
The Qurʾān Concordance is a unique finding aid which allows users to identify and localize text fragments, or even snippets, of the Qurʾān.

A Concordance of the Qur'an by Hanna E. Kassis
Call Number: Oversize - Ground Floor ; BP133 .K37 1983
ISBN: 0520043278
Publication Date: 1983
This Concordance of the Qur'an in English satisfies a paramount need of those--and there are millions of them--who have no command of the Arabic language and yet desire to understand the Qur'an.

Brill's Encyclopaedia of Islam
Sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World: Digital Collection
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World offers extensive comparative and systematic analyses of Islamic beliefs, institutions, movements, practices, and peoples on an international scale.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World by Richard C. Martin (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028656038
Publication Date: 1905-06-01
Historical Atlas of Islam by Malise Ruthven; Azim Nanji (As told to); Abdou Filali-Ansary (As told to)
Call Number: Reference - 1st Floor: R 911.1 R976h
ISBN: 0674013859
Publication Date: 2004