Research Guides: Philosophy: Getting Started

Highlighted Resource

PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online
An index of philosophy journal articles, books, book chapters, and reviews.

Davidson College also has the following Philosophy Documentation Center titles: Augustinian Studies (1970-present), The Journal of Philosophy (1921-present), The Journal of Philosophy, Psychology and Scientific Methods (1904-1920), Environmental Ethics (1979-present).

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
An online-only, dynamic encyclopedia covering 35 subject areas, including aesthetics, ethics, feminism, history of ideas, logic, philosophy of science, political philosophy, and social philosophy.
The Davidson College Library is a member of the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy International Association (SEPIA) and has helped to fund the encyclopedia.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Edward Craig (Editor)
Publication Date: 1998

Over 2000 entries covering the core of philosophy, including metaphysics, epistemology, logic, ethics, political philosophy, and the history of philosophy.
The Shorter Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Edward Craig (Editor)
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9780415511230

Publication Date: 2015

The Shorter REP presents the very best of the acclaimed ten volume Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy in a single volume.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by Robert Audi (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015

A full-scale comprehensive dictionary of philosophical terms and thinkers to appear in English in more than half a century.

Cambridge Companions Online
Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.

Note: Choose "Only search content I have access to" below the search box when searching to limit results to collections Davidson owns.