Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Mystery of Peter Stuart Ney

A guide to materials in Archives and Special Collections related to Peter Stuart Ney, the designer of the college seal, and the mystery of his identity.

Contents of this Guide

In 1840, the trustees of Davidson College appointed a committee to draw a design for the official college seal. Peter Stuart Ney, a local schoolteacher was called upon to design the seal. Peter Stuart Ney arrived in America in 1818 and taught around the Carolinas, later settling in Rowan County, NC. He was believed by many to be Napoleon's famous Marshal Ney, having survived a faked execution after the final defeat of Napoleon. Today, the mystery of Peter Stuart Ney and his identity continues to live on. 

Portrait of Marshal Ney

Portrait of Marshal Michel Ney (Courtesy of Wikipedia)

This guide is designed as a resource to help researchers locate archival collections and materials from Archives & Special Collections related to Peter Stuart Ney. This guide is organized by topic, including:

For each topic, relevant resources from Archives and Special Collections are listed, as well as other related library resources. For questions and more information about materials and listed in this guide, please email archives@davidson.edu.

Follow Us!

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com