Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. A good source for background information. Download, print, or email as many chapters as you like. You can even send chapters to your Google or Microsoft account.
Welcome to the French & Francophone Studies research guide! Use this guide as a starting point for your research in this subject area.
(1100 to approx. 1960) The full text of nearly 3,500 French literary, philosophical, scientific and technical texts; most are from the 12th - 20th centuries. Includes novels, verse, essays, correspondence, treatises, journalism, and theatrical texts; also includes French Women Writers and a Provençal poetry database containing 38 texts in their original spellings.
ARTFL is a cooperative project between the Institut National de la Langue Française of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique and the University of Chicago.
The MLA International Bibliography covers scholarship in a broad range of Humanities disciplines related to global literatures and languages. Coverage includes materials published in more than 100 countries and in more than 50 languages, in the areas of literatures and languages from around the world
French & Francophone Studies Reference Sources
Cambridge Introduction to Francophone Literature by Patrick CorcoranThe literature of French-speaking countries forms a distinct body of work quite separate from literature written in France itself, offering a passionate creative engagement with their postcolonial cultures. This book provides an introduction to the literatures that have emerged in the French-speaking countries and regions of the world in recent decades, illustrating their astonishing breadth and diversity, and exploring their constant state of tension with the literature of France. The study opens with a wide-ranging discussion of the idea of francophonie. Each chapter then provides readers with historical background to a particular region and identifies the key issues that have influenced the emergence of a literature in French, before going on to examine in detail a selection of the major writers. These case studies tackle many of the key authors of the francophone world, as well as new, up-and-coming authors writing today.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010
The Columbia History of Twentieth-Century French Thought by Lawrence D. Kritzman (ed.)With more than two hundred entries by leading intellectuals in the French- and English-speaking world, this new volume presents the authoritative guide to twentieth-century French thought. Unrivaled in its scope and depth, The Columbia History of Twentieth-Century French Thought covers and critiques the intellectual figures, movements, and publications that helped shape and define fields as diverse as history and historiography, psychoanalysis, film, literary theory, cognitive and life sciences, literary criticism, philosophy, and economics. The contributors also discuss developments in French thought on such subjects as pacifism, fashion, gastronomy, technology, and urbanism. More than just a reference volume, The Columbia History of Twentieth-Century French Thought offers original and imaginative explorations of a variety of topics. Contributors include prominent French thinkers, many of whom have played an integral role in the development of French thought, and American, British, and Canadian scholars who have been vital in the dissemination of French ideas. The book brings together such pairings as Etienne Balibar on Althusser; Jean Baudrillard on the futures of theory; Judith Butler on Hegel in France; Régis Debray on mediology; Julia Kristeva on Proust; Michael Morange on the life sciences; Paul Ricoeur on ethics; Elisabeth Roudinesco on psychoanalysis; and Roger Shattuck on humanisms. The book is divided into four parts: Movements and Currents (including all the major schools of thought, such as the Annales, deconstruction, Gaullism, négritude, the New Right, psychoanalysis, and structuralism); Themes (ideas that helped define intellectual work in the twentieth century, such as anti-Semitism, the avant-garde, everyday life, film theory, and nationalism); Intellectuals (including critical accounts of the lives and work of such figures as Aron, Barthes, de Beauvoir, Deleuze, Derrida, Foucault, Irigaray, Kristeva, Levinas, and Proust); and Dissemination (covering influential journals, television shows, radio programs, and newspapers).
Call Number: Reference - 2nd floor R 944.08 C726
Publication Date: 2006
Francophone Studies: The Essential Glossary by Margaret MajumdarThis glossary offers an introduction to Francophone culture and society and a roadmap to further study. Designed specifically with undergraduates in mind, it contains around 400 short and accessible explanations of the key words, events, figures, and concepts in Francophone Studies since 1945. From "afropessimisme" and "griots" to the "Brazzaville Declaration" and "wilaya," this glossary gives an interdisciplinary overview of Francophone culture and society, and offers directions for further reading. Covering politics, popular culture, private life, cultural institutions, and significant events, the entries are fully cross-referenced and assume no prior knowledge, making this an essential reference.
Call Number: Reference - 1st Floor R 944 F826
Publication Date: 2003
French Culture and Society: The Essential Glossary by Michael Kelly (Ed.)This is the first in a series of reference books that offer both an introduction to their subject and a road-map to further study. Designed specifically with students in mind, this book contains about 350 concise and accessible explanations of the key issues, events, and concepts in France since 1918, and around 450 brief entries on key individuals and other items.