Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. A good source for background information. Download, print, or email as many chapters as you like. You can even send chapters to your Google or Microsoft account.
Welcome to the Chinese Studies research guide! Use this guide as a starting point for your research in this subject area.
(1971 to present) Citations to articles, essays in edited collections, conference proceedings, and other materials on all subjects, with a focus on humanities and social sciences, related to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Also lists books published between 1971 and 1992. International in scope; most citations are to works written in Western languages.
Gain insight into Chinese political and social life during the turbulent 120 year period from 1832 to 1953 with 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers. Included are critical perspectives on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China. In addition to the article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and classified ads that illuminate history.
This unique collection is cross-searchable with all ProQuest historical and current newspapers, as well as with other resources your library subscribes to on ProQuest.
Kanopy streaming service offers movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic, and Independent films. Davidson College students, faculty, and staff have unmediated access to certain collections within the Kanopy service.
A one-year license is purchased upon the 4th view of a title for 30 seconds or longer, this license is $135. For a list of titles already licensed by Davidson, please see the Kanopy tab within the Video Research Guide. For mediated collections, faculty can request immediate purchase of required films for a course on the Kanopy platform.
