Davidson College Summer Institute 2019

From UNC-Greensboro, this site contains collections related to slavery in North Carolina, including NC Runaway Slave Advertisements and Slave Deeds of North Carolina.

Contains digital collections from the archives at Johnson C. Smith University. Includes the A.O. and Dorothy Steele Collection and the Charlotte Post Collection.

A list of ten places to explore African American history. Websites for these locations may include primary sources that can be used with students.

The Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, often referred to as the Freedmen's Bureau, was established in the War Department by an act of March 3, 1865. The Bureau supervised all relief and educational activities relating to refugees and freedmen, including issuing rations, clothing and medicine. The Bureau also assumed custody of confiscated lands or property in the former Confederate States, border states, District of Columbia, and Indian Territory. The bureau records were created or maintained by bureau headquarters, the assistant commissioners and the state superintendents of education and included personnel records and a variety of standard reports concerning bureau programs and conditions in the states.

A history of women's involvement at Davidson College, with embedded primary sources and a chronology.

Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950, including over 400 entries from North Carolina women. Accessible through NCLive, which can be used by anyone with a public library card.

From the North Carolina Museum of History. This site contains a time line from pre-nineteenth century through 2015. Includes some embedded primary sources and links to sites with other sources.

Interviews with women involved in the creation of the women's history trail in Franklin, NC.

A site with primary source resources from the Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.

As part of the celebration of Women’s History Month, the State Archives of North Carolina launched “Women in North Carolina: 20th Century History.” This collection provides a glimpse into the lives of North Carolina women as they changed history in our state and the nation. It focuses on documents gathered from across the holdings of the State Archives, including Private Collections, Organization Records, and State Agency Records. While this collection provides an overview of the materials available, it is not an exhaustive survey of women's history materials at the State Archives.

The North Carolina Digital Heritage Center is a statewide digitization and digital publishing program housed in the North Carolina Collection at UNC's Wilson Special Collections Library. The Digital Heritage Center works with cultural heritage institutions across North Carolina to digitize and publish historic materials online.

Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs. The University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill sponsors Documenting the American South, and the texts and materials come primarily from its southern holdings. The UNC University Library is committed to the long-term availability of these collections and their online records. An editorial board guides development of this digital library.

Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection. 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers. Accessible through NC Live.

In the decades following World War II, the city of Charlotte, North Carolina, underwent unprecedented economic growth and social change. This website is a partial archive of this history, digitizing the J. Murrey Atkins Library Department of Special Collections, the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, and those of partners including the Robinson-Spangler Carolina Room of the Charlotte Mecklenburg Library and the Inez Moore Parker Archives at Johnson C. Smith University. This project was made possible by funding from the federal Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act as administered by the State Library of North Carolina, a division of the Department of Cultural Resources.

The North Carolina Digital Collections contain over 90,000 historic and recent photographs, state government publications, manuscripts, and other resources on topics related to North Carolina. The Collections are free and full-text searchable, and bring together content from the State Archives of North Carolina and the State Library of North Carolina.

Contains interviews and photos of former slaves collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA) and hosted on the Library of Congress website.

The North Carolina Veterans Oral History Collection is composed of more than 1,100 interviews. Since 1996 the Military Collection at the State Archives of North Carolina has conducted them as part of the North Carolina Veterans Oral History Program. The purpose of the program is to document and provide access to the memories and experiences of military servicemen and servicewomen from the state of North Carolina, and preserve them for future scholarship. The interviews included in this online collection have been conducted since 2015, and are in audio format for streaming-only listening through the State Archives’ Internet Archive collection; links to these interviews are also provided through the North Carolina Digital Collections. Interviews will be made accessible through digital audio and text-based interview summaries over the coming years. Interviews are conducted by the Military Collection Archivist and program volunteers.

This collection contains 500 digitized oral history interviews from the Southern Oral History Program (SOHP). Sub-collections include: Charlotte; Civil Rights; Environmental Transformations; Piedmont Industrializations; Southern Politics; and Southern Women.

These collections of oral history interviews are from the holdings of the Department of Special Collections at J. Murrey Atkins Library, UNC Charlotte. The interviews, conducted by UNC Charlotte faculty, students and staff as well as several community organizations, document the history, life, and culture of the Charlotte region from a range of perspectives. Featured here are the oral history recordings selected for digitization as part of the project Living Charlotte: The Postwar Development of a New South City, which documents many social aspects of postwar Charlotte, including the eras of segregation and desegregation in education, civil rights activism, and other topics.

This Omeka site features digitized primary sources from Davidson College Archives & Special Collections. Exhibits include: local postcards, the "Shared Stories" project, local maps, and scrapbooks.

This collection features letters, sermons, plantation ledgers, and class notebooks from nineteenth century Davidson College trustees. These records were digitized with help from the Justice, Equality, Community grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

This is the main website for Davidson College Archives & Special Collections and features digitized materials, exhibits, and encyclopedia entries about college history.