Research Guides: Environmental Studies 160: Environmental Justice: Home

Navigation

Looking for a specific journal or newspaper?

Search the title in Journal Finder to find out which database contains it.

How to Ask a Librarian

Schedule a Consultation
with a research librarian

Stop by the information desk

Call: 704-894-2331

Send an email:
askalibrarian@davidson.edu

Library Session Worksheet

ENV 160 Library session worksheet

Secondary Sources - Article Databases

America: History & Life, and Historical Abstracts

Citations to articles, book chapters, book reviews, and more.
Historical Abstracts covers world history from 1450 to the present; America:History & Life covers the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to present. Search is for both by default, you can choose one or the other.
Environment Abstracts
Citations to articles on topics related to environmental issues, impacts, laws, policies, and technologies, and more.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE is a free research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
JSTOR
JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. Includes ArtStor licensed images. AI interactive research tool available when logged into your JSTOR account.
ProQuest Research Tools
Multidisciplinary collection of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and more. Search includes all of the Davidson College Library ProQuest databases.
Web of Science

An interdisciplinary resource with journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Access is restricted to current faculty and staff and currently-enrolled students of Davidson College only.

Library catalog (search for books)

Primary Sources

ProQuest Newsstand
Full text articles from over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs . Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and other national and regional titles.

Access World News
Contains diverse global, local, regional, and national newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, videos, periodicals, and web-only content.
Includes electronic access to the Charlotte Observer (1886-present), in addition to many local North Carolina newspapers.
Digital Public Library of America
Contains materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the United States.
Global Plants Database
Database of digitized plant specimens and related materials from community contributors around the world. This resource also features reference works and primary sources, such as collectors’ correspondence and diaries, illustrations, and photographs.
HathiTrust
The HathiTrust Digital Library collection is a digital repository of books, selected periodicals, and other materials digitized by a partnership of research libraries.
As a member of HathiTrust, Davidson College has digital full-text access to public domain titles and full-text searching of additional titles in copyright.

To log in for full access to HathiTrust, select the yellow login button in the top-right corner, select Davidson College from the drop-down menu, and enter your single sign-on credentials when prompted.
To find books that you can view cover-to-cover, be sure to limit to "full view only."

Environmental Studies: Documerica by Location
For the Documerica Project (1971-1977), the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) hired freelance photographers to capture images relating to environmental problems, EPA activities, and everyday life in the 1970s. The National Archives digitized part of the series "Documerica" (Local ID 412-DA). More than 15,000 of these images are available in our online catalog.
The Global Atlas of Environmental Justice (EJAtlas)
The Global Atlas of Environmental Justice (EJAtlas) is a tool to document environmental conflicts and visibilise the ecological, socioeconomic and health impacts that the extractive economy generates around the world. It also showcases the alternatives and proposals of hundreds of citizens, activists and social movements that confront it and fight for a more just and sustainable future.

AP Newsroom
Breaking news, feature stories, photographs, graphics and audio clips produced by the AP’s network of worldwide journalists.
Independent Voices
Independent Voices comprises selections from alternative press collections of respected academic institutions across the country.

Davidson College Library is a funding library for Reveal Digital, Independent Voices.

Data & Mapping

Environmental Justice Index
The Environmental Justice Index (EJI) is the first national, place-based tool designed to measure the cumulative impacts of environmental burden through the lens of human health and health equity. The EJI delivers a single rank for each community to identify and map areas most at risk for the health impacts of environmental burden.
Climate & Environmental Data
National and international climate datasets and indicators

Chicago/Turabian Style

Chicago style has two versions:

Notes & Bibliography, which has footnotes instead of in-text citations.
Author & Date, which uses in-text citations.

Turabian style is based on Chicago style, but has simpler rules for structuring citations.

Formatting Notes (Chicago and Turabian Notes & Bibliography)

A note uses a footnote to indicate a citation. For example: a behavioral antiracist is "one who is making racial group behavior fictional and individual behavior real."¹

1. Ibram X. Kendi, How to Be an Antiracist (One world, 2019), 92.

Formatting In-Text Citations (Chicago and Turabian Author/Date)

The in-text citation lists the author's last name, publication date, and page number. Like so: a behavioral antiracist is "one who is making racial group behavior fictional and individual behavior real" (Kendi 2019, 92).

Quick Citation Rules

Chicago Style (18th Ed) Quick Guide
Covers examples of citations for various sources in both Notes & Bibliography and Author/Date.
Turabian Style Quick Guide

Full Citation Guides

The Chicago Manual of Style
Call Number: Online
A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian
Call Number: LB2369 .T8 1996