Research Guides: Humanities 104: Connections and Conflicts II: Find Sources

Davidson Library Catalog: Book Search

Multidisciplinary article databases

These can be a helpful research starting point, especially if you're not sure which disciplinary area best fits your topic.

ProQuest Research Tools
Multidisciplinary collection of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and more. Search includes all of the Davidson College Library ProQuest databases.
Ebsco Research Tools
Search across most EbscoHost article databases as well as the Ebsco e-book collection; interdisciplinary in scope. Note: this search excludes America: History & Life, Historical Abstracts, and L'Année philologique.
Includes:
--Academic Search Complete
--Anthropology Plus
--Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective: 1913-1983
--Art Full Text
--Art Index Retrospective
--ATLA Religion Database
--Biography Index Retrospective: 1946-1983
--Biography Reference Bank
--Book Review Digest Plus
--Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982
--Communication & Mass Media Complete
--EconLit
--Essay and General Literature Retrospective
--Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983
--Film & Television Literature Index
--GreenFILE
--Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
--Index Islamicus
--Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text
--Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
--Music Index Full Text
--Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981
--International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
--MLA International Bibliography
--eBook Collection
--OmniFile Full Text Mega
--PsycARTICLES
--PsycINFO
--Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
--RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
--Short Story Index Retrospective: 1915-1983

Subject-specific article databases

If you know you're looking for an article in a certain subject area, philosophy for example, a subject-specific database can help you to focus your search.

Art Abstracts & Art Index Retrospective
Art Index Retrospective is an archive index chronicling over a half a century of art literature.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM)
This abstracts and indexing database is a specialist bibliography for the study of modern and contemporary art.
This database is included in ProQuest Research Tools search.
ATLA Religion Database: 1949 - present
Citations to articles, books, doctoral dissertations, and book reviews on all aspects of religion and theology.
Historical Abstracts, and America: History & Life
Citations to articles, book chapters, book reviews, and more.
Historical Abstracts covers world history from 1450 to the present; America:History & Life covers the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to present. Search is for both by default, you can choose one or the other.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
Includes citations to journal articles, books, essays, and doctoral dissertations on all aspects of theatre and the performing arts; international in scope. Includes full text articles for many of the most used journals.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
The Modern Language Association International Bibliography covers scholarship in a broad range of Humanities disciplines related to global literature's and languages.
Music Index with Full Text
In addition to full-text journals, includes reviews of performances as well as reviews of sound recordings and videos.
PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online
An index of philosophy journal articles, books, book chapters, and reviews.

Davidson College also has the following Philosophy Documentation Center titles: Augustinian Studies (1970-present), The Journal of Philosophy (1921-present), The Journal of Philosophy, Psychology and Scientific Methods (1904-1920), Environmental Ethics (1979-present).
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
A music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. It facilitates both focused research and browsing for research on classical to popular music, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, from elementary music education to advanced music theory.

Find primary sources

HathiTrust
The HathiTrust Digital Library collection is a digital repository of books, selected periodicals, and other materials digitized by a partnership of research libraries.
As a member of HathiTrust, Davidson College has digital full-text access to public domain titles and full-text searching of additional titles in copyright.
To log in for full access to HathiTrust, select the yellow login button in the top-right corner, select Davidson College from the drop-down menu, and enter your single sign-on credentials when prompted.
To find books that you can view cover-to-cover, be sure to limit to "full view only."
Historical Newspapers
Includes full-text coverage of US newspapers listed below, with the earliest starting in the late 19th century and many continuing through the 20th century.
Davidson has purchased perpetual access to:
The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010)
The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
Chicago Defender (1909-2010)
Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832 - 1953)
Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
The New York Times with Index (1851-2020)
Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010)
Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
The Wall Street Journal (1889-2013)
The Washington Post (1877-2008)
Gale Primary Sources
Search across all Gale primary source collections.
Includes:
• 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection
• 19th Century UK Periodicals
• American Fiction, 1774-1920
• Archives Unbound
• Archives of Sexuality & Gender
• Associated Press Collections Online
• Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture
• British Library Newspapers
• China from Empire to Republic
• Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture 1790-1920
• Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004
• Eighteenth Century Collections Online
• Indigenous Peoples: North America
• Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950
• Nineteenth Century Collections Online
• Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
• Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957
• Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992
• Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
• Smithsonian Collections Online
• The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2012
• The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010
• The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
• The Independent Digital Archive, 1986-2012
• The Listener Historical Archive 1929-1991
• The Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources
• The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926
• The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926
• The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources
• The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926
• The Making of the Modern World
• The Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006
• The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000
• The Times Digital Archive, 1822-2021
• Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2019
• U.S. Declassified Documents Online

Don't forget that books can be a good source of primary sources! If you're looking for more options than the above, check out Primary Sources by Format on the History guide.

Looking for a specific pubication?

Did you professor suggest a specific journal for you to search in? Or perhaps you found one helpful article and want to search the journal to see if there are more articles like it? Search the title in our Journal Finder resource to see which database contains it!

Not sure if what you're looking at is peer-reviewed?

Check out the journal's website or look up the journal title in our UlrichsWeb database.