Skip to Main Content

Two-Spirit/Queer Indigenous Poetry: Finding more information

Focused primarily on North American Poets who identify as both Queer and Indigenous. Not a comprehensive guide, but more of a starting point to highlight some resources and spaces to explore.

Finding Two-spirit and Indigenous Queer poetry means searching through a variety of places and disciplines. You can try looking in journals/spaces that focus on some of these disciplines: anthropology, art, gender and sexuality studies, health sciences, colonial and decolonial studies, social work, and literature among many others.

Here are some academic journals, which can be searched in several places:​

All databases work a little differently, but to get a broad overview of how to search in one, watch at the Find a Scholarly Article on EbscoHost Tutorial.

Find this Journal Article in the Library?

There are two ways to find a journal article in the library: the LinkSource Button and the Journal Finder.

LinkSource Button

If you are in a database and come across an article that does not have full-text, look for the LinkSource button:

This will search all our holdings to see if we have the journal in print (downstairs in the basement) or through another database. If we do not have the article, you can click on a button to interlibrary loan the article.

Journal Finder

During your research, you might come across a citation for an article that you want to read.

To locate the article with the journal finder, determine the Journal Title, Year, Volume, and Issue Number for the article.

In this citation:

Bazerman, C. (1981). What Written Knowledge Does: Three Examples of Academic Discourse. Philosophy of the Social Sciences,, 11(3). 

  • The Journal Title is Philosophy of the Social Sciences.
  • The Year is 1981.
  • The Volume is 11.
  • The Issue Number is 3.

Search for the journal title in the Journal Finder:

In this case, we have the journal Philosophy of the Social Sciences for the year 1986 in the databases Proquest Periodicals Archive and Sage Deep Backfile. You can browse the journal in these databases to find the relevant volume and issue number.

Cite a Journal Article?

For examples of citations in specific styles, click on the tabs above.  

The major components of a journal article citation are:

  • Article Author (i.e. Bill Edwards)
  • Journal Title (i.e. The Journal of Stuff)
  • Article Title (i.e. A Title of Sorts: An Investigation into Citation Styles Across Style Guidelines)
  • Volume and Issue of the Journal (16:2 means volume 16, issue 2)
  • Page Numbers
  • Publication Year
  • Other Identifiers (i.e. DOI, Database Name,etc)

MLA Basic Structure

Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Article Title." Journal Title Vol #.Issue # (Publication Year): First Page of Article-Last Page. Format.

 

Edwards, William. "A Title of Sorts: An Investigation into Citation Practices Acrocess Style Guidelines." A Journal of Stuff 16.2 (2009): 194-210. Print.

 

For more examples, visit the Purdue Owl or consult the MLA Manual style

A librarian can help you navigate the citation process. Ask a Librarian!

Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0.

Mailing Address: Davidson College - E.H. Little Library, 209 Ridge Road, Box 5000, Davidson, NC 28035