If you find articles through journal websites, check them through our Journal Finder resource to see if we have them through the library. If not, just submit an ILL request! Check out this page for a step-by-step guide to locating articles in our library system.
Interlibrary loan (ILL) is fast and free to you! Articles or book chapter requests will come to your Outlook email as a PDF.
Searching in a Communication Studies specific database, like Communications & Mass Media Complete, can make your search more targeted and ensure your search results remain relevant to the discipline.
Use the filters in a database, particularly date range, publication titles, and subject headings to refine your search and get more targeted results.
(c. 1915 to present) Citations to articles from over 770 journals covering the fields of communication studies, journalism, and mass media; 450 of the journals are full text.
Search across most EbscoHost article databases as well as the Ebsco e-book collection; interdisciplinary in scope. Includes Communication & Mass Media Complete. Note: this search excludes America: History & Life, Historical Abstracts, and L'Année philologique.
Includes:
--Academic Search Complete
--Anthropology Plus
--Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective: 1913-1983
--Art Full Text
--Art Index Retrospective
--ATLA Religion Database
--Biography Index Retrospective: 1946-1983
--Biography Reference Bank
--Book Review Digest Plus
--Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982
--Communication & Mass Media Complete
--EconLit
--Essay and General Literature Retrospective
--Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983
--Film & Television Literature Index
--GreenFILE
--Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
--Index Islamicus
--Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text
--Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
--Music Index Full Text
--Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981
--International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
--MLA International Bibliography
--eBook Collection
--OmniFile Full Text Mega
--PsycARTICLES
--PsycINFO
--Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
--RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
--Short Story Index Retrospective: 1915-1983
Now our largest collection of full-text article databases!
(c. 1800 to present) Multidisciplinary collection of full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and more. Also contains citations to additional materials. Includes all of our ProQuest databases.
Additional Databases
Multidisciplinary databases cover many subjects, including Communication Studies. Browse related databases using the tabs.
JSTOR access includes over 50,000 eBooks; full-text archive of the back issues of major scholarly journals; 19th Century British Pamphlets, a collection of journals, monographs, and manuscripts related to Ireland, and some current journal issues. The eBooks work just like journals, offering unlimited use and DRM-free chapter downloads in PDF format.
(c. mid-1990s to present) A collection of over 700 full-text journals and more than 65,000 eBooks published by university and scholarly presses. Covers the humanities and social sciences. Titles are DRM-free allowing for unlimited access, downloading and printing, and simultaneous usage.
The MUSE platform offers 100% complete, full-text, journal, book, and related content from over 200 not-for-profit publishers including many of the world's most distinguished university presses, scholarly societies, independent publishers, and academic departments.
(Historical time period: 1450 to present; Publication coverage: 1954 to present). Citations to articles, book chapters, book reviews, and more. America:History & Life covers the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to present; Historical Abstracts covers world history from 1450 to the present.
Historical and global in scope, Women’s Issues & Identities offers coverage of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. The archive presents materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women’s lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society.
(c. 1900 to present) An interdisciplinary resource with over 20,000 scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, also navigate the full citation network.
Access is restricted to current faculty and staff and currently-enrolled students of Davidson College only.
