Encyclopedias and Handbooks can be helpful as a research starting point. They provide you with reliable background information and overviews of key concepts in the discipline. Through the references and citations they provide you can use them to find additional sources on the topic.
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology by
Psychologists, researchers, teachers, and students need complete and comprehensive information in the fields of psychology and behavioral science. The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology, Volume One has been the reference of choice for almost three decades. This indispensable resource is updated and expanded to include much new material. It uniquely and effectively blends psychology and behavioral science. The Fourth Edition features over 1,200 entries; complete coverage of DSM disorders; and a bibliography of over 10,000 citations. Readers will benefit from up-to-date and authoritative coverage of every major area of psychology.
Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science by
An exciting reference work which captures current thinking aboutthe workings of the mind and brain, focusing on problems that areas old as recorded history, but reflecting new approaches andtechniques that have emerged since the 1980's. The Encyclopedia contains 696 articles covering indepth the entire spectrum of the cognitive sciences. Reviewing the common themes of information and informationprocessing, representation and computation, it also covers indepth the core areas of psychology, philosophy, linguistics,computer science, and neuroscience. Ancillarytopics such as education, economics, evolutionary biologyand anthropology are also covered. The articles have been written to provide multiple levels ofinformation so that readers from various levels can benefit fromthis set ? from undergraduate and postgraduate students touniversity lecturers. With extensive cross-referencing, a glossary and subject indexto further aid the reader through the book, the Encyclopediaof Cognitive Science is an essential addition to anylibrary or office shelf. The Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science (ECS)includes: 4 Volumes 4000 pages 696 articles Contributions from the world?s leading experts 1,500 illustrations Detailed indexes and appendices Extensive cross-referencing
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology by
Not long ago, social psychology was a small field consisting of creative, energetic researchers bent on trying to study a few vexing problems in normal adult human behaviour with rigorous scientific methods. In a few short decades, the field has blossomed into a major intellectual force, with thousands of researchers worldwide exploring a stunningly diverse set of fascinating phenomena with an impressive arsenal of research methods and ever-more carefully honed theories. The Encyclopedia of Social Psychology is the first resource to present state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts from this fascinating field. These two volumes include more than 600 entries chosen by a diverse team of experts to comprise an exhaustive list of the most important concepts. The Encyclopedia is written for students who may be encountering concepts such as social loafing, deindividuation, base rate fallacy, ego depletion and self-handicapping for the first time and want a simple, clear, jargon-free explanation of what they mean. Key Themes " Action Control " Antisocial Behaviors " Attitude " Culture " Emotions " Evolution " Groups " Health " History " Influence " Interpersonal Relationships " Judgment and Decision Making " Methods " Personality " Prejudice " Problem Behaviors " Prosocial Behaviors " Self " Social Cognition " Subdisciplines
Oxford Handbooks Online (Psychology)
The Cambridge Handbook of Sociocultural Psychology by 
Handbook of Diversity Issues in Health Psychology. the Plenum Series in Culture and Health by 
Handbook of Racial-Cultural Psychology and Counseling, Volume 2 by 
The Oxford Handbook of Diversity and Work by 
Handbook of Psychology, Experimental Psychology by Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under
CC BY-SA 4.0.
Mailing Address: Davidson College - E.H. Little Library, 209 Ridge Road, Box 5000, Davidson, NC 28035