Research Guides: University Press Resources: Home

Duke University Press

eDuke Books Scholarly Collection
(c. 1980 to present) Over 2,200 ebooks published by Duke University Press in the humanities and social sciences.
Learn more about Duke University Press

Other University Press Resources

MIT Press Direct
MIT Press Direct, a platform that features more than 3,000 titles from the MIT Press’s distinguished front- and backlist. Key subject areas covered in the complete collection include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.
more...less...
DRM Free for users to print, copy and paste, and download by chapter PDF, unlimited simultaneous users.
University of Michigan Press eBook Collection
University of Michigan Press is a leading publisher and distributor of books and digital projects in the humanities and social sciences that are aligned with the strengths of its parent institution. Areas of particular focus are performing arts; classical studies; political science; American studies (especially disability and class studies); Asian and African studies.
Project Muse
(c. mid-1990s to present) A collection of over 600 full-text journals and more than 30,000 ebooks published by university and scholarly presses. Covers the humanities and social sciences.

Welcome!

University press collections offer a wealth of information for any academic community. This guide showcases two of our more local collections with university presses. As a member of the Davidson College community, you also have access to several other resources. They are featured below in list format. We welcome you to explore!

Learn more from the Association of University Presses.

Additional UPresses

Photo by Matthew Waring on Unsplash

Oxford Journals Online
(1996 to present) The full text of over 400 journals published by Oxford University Press. The collection includes journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Additional Oxford Resources
We hold many reference and background information resources from Oxford. View the full list.
Cambridge Core
Access to over 30,000 eBooks, 600 Cambridge Companions Online, Shakespeare Survey Online, and over 230 full-text journals published by Cambridge University Press. Multi-disciplinary, with coverage of the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Note: Choose "Only search content I have access to" below the search box when searching to limit results to collections Davidson owns. We do not subscribe to the entire Cambridge Core collection.
Cambridge Companions Online
Update: The full text of over 600 titles in the Cambridge Companions Literature and Classics series, Philosophy, Religion, and Culture series, and Music series.

University of North Carolina Press

NC LIVE Home Grown eBook Collection
A pilot project supported by the Davidson College Library and more than 160 other libraries across North Carolina.
Over 3,400 ebooks, including novels by popular North Carolina authors, popular and scholarly nonfiction, short fiction, and poetry, published by eight North Carolina publishers. Ebooks can be viewed in a browser or downloaded to a tablet.
Learn more about UNC Press

Why use UPress resources?

University press resources come directly from academic institutions. This means that the individuals publishing their work with the press are part of the same community as Davidson, the scholarly community. You have a front-row seat to current research!

Examine some hot topic issues through recent UPress publications with Books for Understanding.

University Press Resources: Home