Future of the Library: Bibliography

In Assessing Library Space for Learning, chapters discuss library usage at academic institutions and how that usage is an integral part of the student learning experience. Included are the perspectives of an architect who is tasked with designing library spaces with learning in mind, a psychologist whose professional research focuses on the concept of place, and a dynamic group of academic librarians who are dedicated to making the library conducive to the needs of their learners.

What are the most important things a 21st-century library should do with its space? Each chapter in this cutting-edge text addresses this critical question, capturing the insights and practical ideas of leading international librarians, educators and designers to offer you a 'creative resource bank' that will help to transform your library and learning spaces.

This book provides practical information and insights to library administrators and building plan team members at academic and public libraries who are considering or starting a library expansion or reconfiguration of existing space. * Covers all of the steps in the building process, from preparing the RFP and selecting an architect to developing a financial contingency plan and managing community and staff expectations * Includes contributions from some of the most accomplished library architects and designers from across the nation * Presents information of great relevance and interest to library administrators as well as to architectural firms that work with libraries

An international team of contributors addresses some of the challenges facing the library and information science profession. Topics covered include: e-learning; virtual learning spaces; new models for services and funding; and dealing with information that is not traditionally the province of the library.

Libraries are dealing with unprecedented changes on several fronts: technological developments, funding difficulties, and an increasing need to prove themselves to a demanding population. These factors understandably impact physical library space. Looking toward the future, what changes can we expect to see in how libraries use space. This volume of Advances in Library Administration and Organization (ALAO) will focus on the future of library spaces. ALAO offers long-form research, comprehensive discussions of theoretical developments, and in-depth accounts of evidence-based practice library administration and organization. The series aims to answer the questions "How have libraries been managed and how should they be managed?" It goes beyond a platform for the sharing of research to provide a venue for dialogue across issues, in a way that traditional peer reviewed journals cannot. Through this series practitioners can glean new approaches in challenging times and collaborate on the exploration of scholarly solutions to professional quandaries.

This publication examines aspects of reducing the ecological footprint in libraries' workaday operations as well as the social role and responsibility of libraries as leaders in environmental sustainability. Examples of best practice from academic libraries in Hong Kong, Cameroon, Germany, Uganda, USA and Kenya, are presented. All papers published in this book are selected from the best papers of the ENSULIB Satellite Meeting 2017 in Berlin, the ENSULIB/Public Libraries Section's Open Session at the IFLA Conference 2017 in Poland, and from the IFLA Green Library Award 2017. All articles are written in English.

This exhaustive study, based on data from 44 colleges and universities, presents a broad range of data and commentary about how academic libraries have altered their use of space in the past three years, and how they plan to alter it in the future. Among the many issues discussed are uses of space for patron seating, workstations, information commons, group and personal work rooms, classrooms, special collections, meetings and performances, special technology equipped rooms, energy saving technology, roof gardens and much more. The study also looks at overall budget trends in the capital spending and at spending on and results of major redesigns. The 230+ page analysis also looks at general capital spending on information technology, new buildings and other forms of capital expenditures by academic libraries, in addition to exploring the sources and prospects for funding new library capital spending initiatives. Data in the report is broken out by size and type of institution, for public and private institutions, and by level of tuition, among other variables.

The collection of knowledge and practical wisdom in this book will help academic and public libraries find ways to honor their missions while planning for the broader institutional changes already underway.

Academic libraries are in the midst of significant disruption. Academic librarians and university administrators know they need to change, but are not sure how. Bits and pieces of what needs to happen are clear, but the whole picture is hard to grasp. Reimagining the Academic Library paints a simple straightforward picture of the changes affecting academic libraries and what academic librarians need to do to respond to the changes would help to guide future library practice. The aim is to explain where academic libraries need to go and how to get there in a book that can be read in a weekend. David Lewis provides a readable survey of the current state of academic library practice and proposes where academic libraries need to go in the future to provide value to their campuses. His primary focus is on collections as this is the area with the greatest opportunity for change and is the driver of most library cost. Lewis provides an accessible framework for thinking about how library practice needs to adjust in the digital environment. The book will be useful not only to academic librarians, but also for librarians to share with presidents and provosts who a concise source for understanding where and how to focus their expenditures on libraries.