Skip to main content

Magazines: 20th Century Magazines in Little Library

How to find current and historical magazines and magazine articles; guides, indexes, and more

Looking for a specific magazine?

Search the following to see if it is availabe online, in print, or on microfilm:

Looking for little magazines?

For a list of little magazines (including print, reprint, microform, and online formats), see:

20th century popular magazines in Little Library

The library has long runs of many popular magazines, which we retain for historical research. The list below includes a variety of magazines, including consumer magazines, opinion magazines, and news magazines.

  • Early and mid-twentieth-century popular magazines
    Most are in paper form or on microfilm.
  • Late twentieth-century magazines (1980-1999)
    If you are looking for magazine articles from the early 1980s to the present, you should also search the resources listed on indexes to 20th century magazines page; the databases listed there include many other magazines.

Do you need to identify articles in these magazines? See indexes to 20th century popular magazines, especially Readers' Guide Abstracts.


To find the current location of microfilm or microfiche  for one of the magazines listed below, search Davidson Library WorldCat.

Unless otherwise indicated, the library has complete runs of the following magazines, and the magazines are English-language.

  • America
    Years of publication: 1909 to present
    Place of publication: New York
    Format: paper
    Library has: 1909 to present but lacks vols. 30-36, 41, 45-46, 54-55, 59, 64, 70, 83-84
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • American Magazine
    Years of publication: 1906-1956
    Place of publication: New York
    Format: paper
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • American Mercury
    Years of publication: 1924-1980
    Place of publication: New York; Torrance, CA
    Format: paper
    Place of publication: Bound Periodicals
  • American Opinion
    See The New American
  • American Spectator
    Years of publication: 1977 to present
    Place of publication: Bloomington, IN
    Format: microfilm
    Library has: 1980 to present 
  • Atlantic Monthly and The Atlantic
    Years of publication: 1857 to present
    Place of publication: Boston 
    Format:
    • Paper
      Library has: 1857 to present
      Location: Bound Periodicals
    • Microfilm
      Library has: 1857-1877
  • Business Week
    Years of publication: 1929 to present
    Place of publication: New York
    Format: paper
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • Catholic World
    Years of publication: 1865 to present
    Place of publication: Paramus, NJ; Mahwah, NJ
    Format: paper
    Library has: 1937-1996
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • The Christian Century
    Years of publication: 1884 to present
    Place of publication: Chicago
    Format:
    • Paper
      Library has: 1926 to present
      Location: Bound Periodicals
    • Microfilm:
      Library has: 1900-1925
  • Christianity Today
    Years of publication: 1956 to present
    Place of publication: Carol Stream, IL
    Format: paper
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • Commentary
    Years of publication: 1945 to present
    Place of publication: New York
    Format:
    • Paper
      Library has: 1956 to present
      Location: Bound Periodicals
    • Microfilm
      Library has: 1945-1956
  • Commonweal
    Years of publication: 1924 to present
    Place of publication: New York
    Format: paper
    Library has: 1948 to present
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • Consumer Reports
    Years of publication: 1942 to present
    Place of publication: Mt. Vernon, NY
    Format: paper
    Library has: 1957 to present
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • Coronet
    Years of publication: 1936-1961
    Place of publication: Chicago
    Format: paper
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • The Crisis
    Years of publication: 1910 to present
    Place of publication: New York; Baltimore
    Format:
    • Paper
      Location: Bound Periodicals
      Library has: 1910 to present (lacks vols. 68, 69, 71-75)
    • Microfilm
      Library has: 1959-1975
  • Dissent
    Years of publication: 1954 to present
    Place of publication: New York
    Format: paper
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • Ebony
    Years of publication: 1945 to present
    Place of publication: Chicago
    Format:
    • Paper
      Library has: 1964 to present
      Location: Bound Periodicals
    • Microfilm
      Library has: 1945-1964
  • The Economist
    Years of publication: 1843 to present
    Place of publication: London
    Format:
    • Paper
      Library has: 5 July 1952 - 1979
      Location: Bound Periodicals
    • Microfilm
      Library has: June 1980 to present
  • Esquire
    Years of publication: 1933 to present
    Place of publication: Chicago; New York
    Format: paper
    Library has: 1954-1955, 1961 to present
    Location: Bound Periodicals
    Note: an author index for the years 1933-1973 is shelved with the print volumes in Bound Periodicals.
  • L'Express
    Years of publication: 1953 to present
    Place of publication: Paris
    Language: French
    Format: microfilm
    Library has: 1966 to present 
  • Fortune
    Years of publication: 1930 to present
    Place of publication: Chicago
    Format:
    • Paper
      Library has: 1930-1992
      Location: Bound Periodicals
    • Microfilm:
      Library has: 1930 to present
  • L'illustration: journal universel
    Years of publication: 1843-1944
    Place of publication: Paris
    Language: French
    Format: paper
    Library has: 1915-1918
  • Interview
    Years of publication: 1977 to present
    Place of publication: New York
    Format: microfilm
    Library has: 1985 to present
  • Jet
    Years of publication: 1951 to present
    Place of publication: Chicago
    Format:
    • Paper
      Library has: 1985 to present
      Location: Bound Periodicals
    • Microfilm
      Library has: 1968-1985
  • Ladies' Home Journal
    Years of publication: 1883 to present
    Place of publication: Philadelphia
    Format: microfilm
    Library has: 1884-1980 (lacks vol. 24, no. 12)
  • Life
    Years of publication: 1936-1972, 1978-2000
    Place of publication: Chicago
    Format:
    • Paper
      Library has: 1936-1972, 1978-2000
      Location: Bound Periodicals
    • Microfilm
      Library has: 1936-1972
    • Online
      Google Books: 1936-1972
  • Look
    Years of publication: 1937-1971, 1979
    Place of publication: Des Moines, IA; New York
    Format: microfilm
  • Maclean's
    Years of publication: 1911 to present
    Place of publication: Toronto, Canada
    Format:
    • Paper
      Library has: 1981 to present
      Location: Bound Periodicals
    • Microfilm
      Library has: 1975-1980
  • Money
    Years of publication: 1972 to present
    Place of publication: Chicago
    Format: paper
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • Mother Jones
    Years of publication: 1976 to present
    Place of publication: San Francisco
    Format: paper
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • Ms.
    Years of publication: 1972 to present
    Place of publication: New York
    Format: paper
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • The Nation
    Years of publication: 1865 to present
    Place of publication: New York
    Format:
    • Paper
      Library has: 1880 to present
      Location: Bound Periodicals
    • Microfilm
      Library has: 1865-1911
  • National Geographic
    Years of publication: 1888 to present
    Place of publication: Washington, DC
    Format: paper
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • National Review
    Years of publication: 1955 to present
    Place of publication: New York
    Format: paper
    Library has: 1955 to present (lacks vol. 18)
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • The New American and American Opinion
    Years of publication:
    • American Opinion: 1958-1985
    • The New American: 1985 to present
    Place of publication: Belmont, MA
    Format: paper
    Library has: 1962 to present
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • The New Republic
    Years of publication: 1914 to present
    Place of publication: New York
    Format:
    • Paper
      Library has: 1916 to present
      Location: Bound Periodicals
    • Microfilm
      Library has: 1914-1916
  • The New Statesman
    Years of publication: 1931 to present
    Place of publication: London
    Format:
    • Paper
      Library has: 1958 to present
      Location: Bound Periodicals
    • Microfilm
      Library has: 1931-1957
  • New York
    Years of publication: 1968 to present
    Place of publication: New York
    Format: paper
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • The New Yorker
    Years of publication: 1925 to present
    Place of publication: New York
    Format:
    • Paper
      Library has: 1939 to present
      Location: Bound Periodicals
    • Microfilm
      Library has: 1925-1940
    Note: indexes to vols. 1-50 (1925-1975) are shelved with the print volumes in Bound Periodicals.
  • Newsweek
    Years of publication: 1933 to present
    Place of publication: Los Angeles; New York
    Format:
    • Paper
      Library has: 1936 to present
      Location: Bound Periodicals
    • Microfilm
      Library has: 1933 to present
  • Paris-Match
    Years of publication 1949 to present
    Place of publication: Paris
    Language: French
    Format: paper
    Library has: 1977 to present
  • People
    Years of publication: 1974 to present
    Place of publication: New York
    Format: microfiche
    Library has: 1975 to present
  • Popular Mechanics
    Years of publication: 1902 to present
    Place of publication: New York
    Format:
    • Paper
      Library has: 1976 to present
      Location: Bound Periodicals
    • Microfilm
      Library has: 1902-1975
  • The Progressive
    Years of publication: 1929 to present
    Place of publication: Madison, WI
    Format: paper
    Library has: 1957 to present
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • Psychology Today
    Years of publication: 1967 to present
    Place of publication: New York
    Format: paper
  • Reader's Digest
    Years of publication: 1922 to present
    Place of publication: Pleasantville, NY
    Format: paper
    Library has: 1923 to present
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • Rolling Stone
    Years of publication: 1967 to present
    Place of publication: San Francisco
    Format: microfilm
  • Saturday Evening Post
    Years of publication: 1839 to present
    Place of publication: Philadelphia
    Format:
    • Paper
      Library has: 1932 to present
      Location: Bound Periodicals
    • Microfilm
      Library has: 1920-1931
  • Saturday Review of Literature and Saturday Review
    Years of publication:
    • 1924-1951 (Saturday Review of Literature)
    • 1952-1973 (Saturday Review)
    Place of publication: New York
    Format: paper
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • Scientific American
    Years of publication: 1845 to present
    Place of publication: New York
    Format:
    • Paper
      Library has:  1867 to present
      Location: Bound Periodicals
    • Microfilm
      Library has: 1859-2007
    • Online
      Library has: 1993 to present
      Includes color pdf versions of articles.
  • Seventeen
    Years of publication: 1944 to present
    Place of publication: New York
    Format: paper
    Library has: 2006 to present
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • Smithsonian
    Years of publication: 1970 to present
    Place of publication: Washington, DC
    Format: paper
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • Southern Living
    Years of publication: 1966 to present
    Place of publication: Birmingham, AL
    Format: paper
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • The Spectator
    Years of publication: 1828 to present
    Place of publication: London
    Format: paper
    Library has: 1965 to present
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • Der Spiegel
    Years of publication: 1947 to present
    Place of publication: Hamburg, Germany
    Language: German
    Format: microfilm
    Library has: 1962 to present
  • Sports Illustrated
    Years of publication: 1954 to present
    Place of publication: Los Angeles; Chicago
    Format: microfilm
  • Tikkun
    Years of publication: 1986 to present
    Place of publication: Oakland, CA
    Format: paper
    Library has: 1992 to present
    Location: Bound Periodicals
  • Time
    Years of publication: 1923 to present
    Place of publication: New York; Chicago
    Format:
    • Paper
      Library has: 1924 to present
      Location: Bound Periodicals
    • Microfiche
      Library has: 1923 to present
  • U.S. News & World Report
    Years of publication: 1948 to present
    Place of publication: Washington, DC
    Format:
    • Paper
      Library has: 1950 to present
      Location: Bound Periodicals
    • Microfilm
      Library has: 1948 to present
  • Vogue
    Years of publication: 1892 to present
    Place of publication: New York
    Format: paper
    Library has: 2006 to present
    Location: Bound Periodicals

Citation management

Zotero logo

 

Access Zotero                 Zotero Guide

Ask a Librarian

consultation

Schedule a Consultation
with a research librarian
info_desk

Stop by the information desk
call_text

Call: 704-894-2331
Questions? Need help? Ask a Librarian
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com