Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Stories: Oral Histories and Interviews

A guide to oral histories and interviews in Archives and Special Collections at Davidson College.

CDs

Audiovisual materials are media including record albums, audiocassettes, videocassettes, music cds, cd-roms, and dvds. Most of our collection deals with campus events such as convocation, freshman orientation lectures, commencements, and reunions. There are also oral history tapes related to college and town history.

Listed below are select oral histories and interviews from our collection recorded on CDs. If have questions or would like to view these materials in-person, please email archives@davidson.edu for assistance. 

CD 29: Sauni Wood and Randy Kincaid Interviews, 05/03/2007

              Subjects: Ada Jenkins Community Center, Davidson, NC

CD 30: Adeline Ostwalt and Paula Kelton Interviews, 03/18/2007

              Subjects: Ada Jenkins Community Center, Davidson, NC

CD 31: Mary Archie Interview, 02/27/2007

Subjects: Ada Jenkins Community Center, Davidson, NC

CD 32: Annie Mildred Lowrey Interview, 03/21/2007

              Subjects: Ada Jenkins Community Center, Davidson, NC

CD 34: Nee Nee Cormier Interview, 05/12/2007

              Subjects: Davidson, NC – Fire Department

CD 35: History 353 Denning - Fitzgerald Interview, 02/23/2007

              Subjects: Davidson, NC – Fire Department

CD 39: History 353 - Frank Jordan and Bill Ward Interview, 05/11/2007

Subjects: Davidson, NC – History; Davidson, NC – African Americans, Davidson, NC – Lakeside Terrace

CD 40: History 353 – Waterman - Ethel Rhodes Interview, 03/22/2007

Subjects: Davidson, NC – History; Davidson, NC – African Americans, Davidson, NC – Lakeside Terrace

CD 42: History 353 - Blackburn and Annie Mildred Lowery Interview, 04/24/2007

Subjects: Davidson, NC – History; Davidson, NC – African Americans, Davidson, NC – Westside Stakeholders

CD 44: History 353 - DeLozier - Loretta Wertheimer Interview, 04/24/2007

Subjects: Davidson, NC – History; Davidson, NC – African Americans, Davidson, NC – Westside Stakeholders

CD 45: History 353 - Kennedy - Heidi Dietrich Interview, 04/24/2007

Subjects: Davidson, NC – History; Davidson, NC – African Americans, Davidson, NC – Westside Stakeholders

CD 47: History 353 - Schildknecht - Bill McCoy Interview, 04/24/2007

Subjects: Davidson, NC – History; Davidson, NC – African Americans, Davidson, NC – Westside Stakeholders

CD 57- CD 61: Alumni of Color Interview Project (2009)

Speakers: Lenny McAllister (’93), Janet Stovall (’85), Leslie Brown (’69), Rasheedah Hasan (’96), Derry Harper (’76)  

Description: These five interviews were conducted by students during a 2009 alumni event.

CD 119: Frank Gudger Oral History Interview, 2013

             Subjects: Davidson, NC – History, Lake Norman, NC

DVDs

Listed below are select oral histories and interviews from our collection recorded on DVDs. If have questions or would like to view these materials in-person, please email archives@davidson.edu for assistance. 

DVD 2: Race at Davidson: (Interviews with Students, School Year 1983-84)

Description: In this video, several students are interviewed and asked questions about their opinions on the racial issues facing Davidson College. Video 15 is original version.

DVD 177: Shaw Smith Interview (1987)

Description: This video includes raw footage of interviews with C. Shaw Smith (Retired College Union Director) done prior to the 1987 Union Reunion. He discusses the history of the union at Davidson. Edited versions of the interviews are in DVD 174.

DVD 178: Coeducation Talkback (2012)

Description: A Union Board production in conjunction with the Davidsonian Show and Davidson Women's Activity Council. The video has interviews with Gardner Ligo, Job Thomas, and Caroline Fache along with short answer responses from Davidson students to questions such as when did coeducation begin at Davidson, what is a MRS degree, attitudes about gender relations on campus.

Relevant Archival Materials

Archival materials are the institutional records of Davidson College from its establishment in 1837 to the present day. Included within the collections are president's office records, academic department files, and student organization records. 

Listed below is a relevant collection related to the oral histories listed above, including a brief description of the collection's contents and a hyperlink to the collection's digital finding aid.

Student Work (RG 10-1)

Description: This collection consists of student papers donated by several academic departments, with most of these examples from the 1970s forward. Works include oral history interviews with members of the Westside Stakeholders, the Davidson Fire Department, the Ada Jenkins Center, and a handful of individuals associated with Davidson College in some way. There are also several student papers discussing racial barriers in the town of Davidson.

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com