Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Oral History + Podcasting: Forms

A collection of oral history and podcasting resources at Davidson.

What forms should I use?

Even if your oral history projects are not donated to the Davidson College Archives and Special Collections, you must use a permissions form to protect the rights of both your narrator and yourself. In the Required Forms box below, you will find two sample forms you could use to create one for your own project with some simple language fixes. If you intend to donate your materials to the Archives, you MUST use one of these two forms.


Forms C and D are optional checklists designed to help you work your way through an oral history project from start to finish. These forms are inspired by documentation provided in The Oral History Manual (Third Edition) by Barbara Sommer and Mary Kay Quinlan.

Required Forms

​A. Oral History Interview Permissions Form

Would you like to archive your interview with Davidson College Archives and Special Collections? Use this form and contact us at archives@davidson.edu

If you are not interested in archiving your interview with Archives and Special Collections, this particular form is not required, but highly recommended. If you do not use this form, a permissions and/or consent form is still required when conducting oral history interviews.

 

B. Oral History Creative Commons Form (interviewee retains copyright)

Does the person(s) you are interviewing wish to retain copyright? Would you like to archive your interview with Davidson College Archives and Special Collections? Use this form.

For more information on copyright, see our research guide: https://davidson.libguides.com/copyright or make an appointment with a librarian or archivist.

Optional Forms

C. Interview Summary Form

This form is designed to help you summarize the key points of your interview as it happens. This will help you with post-interview processing. This form is optional.

 

D. Interview Tracking Form

This form is designed to help you manage the oral history interview process from start to finish. This form is optional.

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com