Over 2.5 million digital images; covers a wide range of cultures and time periods and includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, visual culture, and anthropological and ethnographic materials. Also includes tools to manipulate and analyze the images.
Images may be used for noncommercial, educational, and scholarly purposes by Davidson students and faculty. Please note that they may only be posted to Davidson-restricted Web sites and must not be shared with others outside the college.
Welcome to Diotíma (v. 3.0), a resource for information on women, gender, sex, sexualities, race, ethnicity, class, status, masculinity, enslavement, disability, and the intersections among them in the ancient Mediterranean world. Includes a bibliography as well as links to other online resources, including journal articles, images, course syllabi, book reviews, and databases. Interdisciplinary in scope.
Note: All images are Open Access images in the Public Domain. Most are from The Met’s Open Access collection.
Images from the Beasley's vast collections of photographs of ancient Greek painted pottery; the site also includes databases with images ofgem engravings, Etruscan and Central Italian architectural terracottas, Attic vase inscriptions, plastercasts and more. From the Classical Art Research Centre and Beazley Archive, University of Oxford.
The Van Buren Antiques Collection of Smith College Department of Classical Languages and Literatures is an archeological study collection consisting of approximately 135 objects from Ancient Greece and Italy, including vases, bronzes, terracottas, marbles, glass ware, household utensils, polished pieces of stone and inscriptions. The core of the collection was originally the personal study collection of Albert William Van Buren (1878-1968).