Research Guides: Latin 288: Transition to Empire: Find Images

Denarius with Augustus from ARTstor

Roman, Empire. c. 19-18 BCE. Silver Denarius of Augustus, Obverse: Head of Augustus, wearing oak wreath.. coins (money).

Place: Wriston Art Galleries, Lawrence University, Appleton, Wisconsin, Ottilia Buerger Coin Collection. https://library.artstor.org/asset/AWRISTONIG_10313350606.

Images & copyright

Using images for a class project? Be sure to consider copyright!

Check out our guide on images and copyright:

Copyright terms for images
Fair use and images
Finding images
How to find licensed and public domain images.

The Forum

An image of the remains of the Temple of Mars Ultor

Built by order of Augustus. Construction begun around the year 35 BC; dedicated in the year 2 BC;. Imperial Forums - Forum of Augustus - Temple of Mars Ultor. https://library.artstor.org/asset/ASITESPHOTOIG_10312730129.

Recommended image collections

Perseus Digital Library
Digital library of resources related to ancient Greece, including images, reference tools, Greek and Latin texts, and more.
Artstor/JSTOR Digital Library
The Artstor Digital Library is a database of high quality images for use in the humanities.
Images are also accessible through the JSTOR platform. Spring 2024 this database will relocate to the "J" page and accessible through JSTOR.
DIOTIMA: Materials for the Study of Women & Gender In the Ancient World
Welcome to Diotíma (v. 3.0), a resource for information on women, gender, sex, sexualities, race, ethnicity, class, status, masculinity, enslavement, disability, and the intersections among them in the ancient Mediterranean world. Includes a bibliography as well as links to other online resources, including journal articles, images, course syllabi, book reviews, and databases. Interdisciplinary in scope.
Note: All images are Open Access images in the Public Domain. Most are from The Met’s Open Access collection.

Classical Research Centre and the Beazley Archive
Images from the Beasley's vast collections of photographs of ancient Greek painted pottery; the site also includes databases with images ofgem engravings, Etruscan and Central Italian architectural terracottas, Attic vase inscriptions, plastercasts and more.
From the Classical Art Research Centre and Beazley Archive, University of Oxford.

TIP: Create an ARTstor account!

Try ARTstor for any images or visuals you may need. The collection is extensive. I'd suggest creating an account to have access to all of the database's features including downloading high quality images and saving content. The citations are pretty decent, too!

Artstor/JSTOR Digital Library
The Artstor Digital Library is a database of high quality images for use in the humanities.
Images are also accessible through the JSTOR platform. Spring 2024 this database will relocate to the "J" page and accessible through JSTOR.

Get Support with ARTstor
This link will take you to ARTstor's support pages. There is a bit of a learning curve with the interface. Please reach out if you need assistance.