Research Guides: History 424: The Global French Revolution: Reference Sources/Background

Chicago Manual of Style

The library also has copies of Chicago and Rampolla at the Information Desk.
Remember that you can use Zotero to generate notes and bibliographies too!

Biographical information

Biography Index Retrospective 1946-1983
Biography Index Retrospective is an archive index covering notable individuals from all time periods and countries. Indexing and citations include book reviews, interviews, obituaries, diaries and memoirs.
Includes the full text of biographies from major reference works, such as The Grove Dictionary of Art, Current Biography, and The Dictionary of American Religious Biography, among others. Also includes Biography Index (1946-1983).

Dictionnaire de biographie française
20 vols. Paris: Letouzey et Ané, 1933-<2011>
Reference Stacks 920.044 D55

Gale Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.

Recommended reference sources

Gale eBooks Reference Library
Encyclopedias and reference sources that cover a variety of topics.

Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000
Ed. Peter N. Stearns. 6 vols. New York: Scribner, 2001.
Main Library Reference Stacks 306.094 E56

More reference sources

The Columbia History of Twentieth-Century French Thought
Ed. Lawrence Kritzman. New York: Columbia Univ. Press, 2006.
Reference Stacks 944.08 C726
Dictionnaire historique de la Re´volution franc¸aise
Jean-Reé Suratteau et al. Paris: Presses universitaires de France, 1989.
Reference Stacks DC147 .D52 1989
Encyclopedia of the French Revolutionary and Napoleonic Wars: A Political, Social, and Military History.
Ed. Gregory Fremont-Barnes. 3 vols. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2006.
Reference Stacks 944.04 E56
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
Ed. Fetwa Malti-Douglas. Detroit: Macmillan Reference, 2007.
Historical Dictionary of France from the 1815 Restoration to the Second Empire
Ed. Edgar Leon Newman. 2 vols. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1987.
Reference Stacks 944.06 H673
Historical Dictionary of Napoleonic France, 1799-1815
Ed. Owen Connelly. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1985.
Reference Stacks 944.04 H6731
Historical Dictionary of Paris
Alfredo Fierro. Trans. Jon Woronoff. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 1998.
Reference Stacks 944.36 F465h-T
Historical Dictionary of the French Fourth and Fifth Republics, 1946-1991
Ed. Wayne Northcutt. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1992.
Reference Stacks 944.082 H673
Historical Dictionary of the French Revolution
Paul R. Hanson. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 2004.
Reference Stacks 944.04 H251h
Historical Dictionary of the French Revolution, 1789-1799
Ed. Samuel F. Scott and Barry Rothaus. 2 vols. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1985.
Reference Stacks 944.04 H673
Historical Dictionary of the French Second Empire, 1852-1870
Ed. William E. Echard. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1985.
Reference Stacks 944.07 H673
Historical Dictionary of the Third French Republic, 1870-1940
Ed. Patrick H. Hutton. 2 vols. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1986.
Reference Stacks 944.08 H673
Historical Dictionary of the Wars of the French Revolution
Steven T. Ross. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 1998.
Reference Stacks 944.04 R826h
Historical Dictionary of the Enlightenment
Harvey Chisick. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 2005.
Reference Stacks 940.25 C542h
International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-2000
B.R. Mitchell. 5th ed. London: Palgrave Macmillan, 2003.
Reference Stacks HA1107 .M5 2003

Grove Art on Oxford Art Online
Grove Art Online is a scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. Searchable on the Oxford Art Online platform offers authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources within the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Updated regularly.

Women in Western European History: A Select Chronological, Geographical, and Topical Bibliography
Ed. Linda Frey et al. 2 vols. New York: Greenwood, 1982- .
Reference R 016.3 F8931w
Supplement: Reference R 016.3 F8931w Supp.

Find more reference books

Citation management

Access Zotero Zotero Guide

Ask Us

Research Assistance
Meet with library staff.
Library Chat
Chat with us online.

Contact Information