Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. A good source for background information. Download, print, or email as many chapters as you like. You can even send chapters to your Google or Microsoft account.
An integrated research environment that allows users to search across all of their Gale primary source collections. Through intuitive subject-indexing users will discover new material even in the most familiar of content sets. Includes digital facsimiles of books, manuscripts, some newspapers, photographs, and more.
• 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection
• 19th Century UK Periodicals
• American Fiction, 1774-1920
• Archives Unbound
• Archives of Sexuality & Gender
• Associated Press Collections Online
• Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture
• British Library Newspapers
• China from Empire to Republic
• Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture 1790-1920
• Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004
• Eighteenth Century Collections Online
• Indigenous Peoples: North America
• Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950
• Nineteenth Century Collections Online
• Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
• Picture Post Historical Archive
• Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992
• Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
• Smithsonian Collections Online
• The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2012
• The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010
• The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
• The Independent Digital Archive, 1986-2012
• The Listener Historical Archive 1929-1991
• The Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources
• The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926
• The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926
• The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources
• The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926
• The Making of the Modern World
• The Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006
• The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000
• The Times Digital Archive
• Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2011
• U.S. Declassified Documents Online
A multi-disciplinary resource, collections cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Particular strengths include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history.
A digital repository of books, selected periodicals, and other materials digitized by a partnership of research libraries. To find books that you can view cover-to-cover, be sure to limit to "full view only."
(1941-1996) The full text of U.S. Government transcriptions and translations of foreign news broadcasts, including clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories; these reports were used by U.S. intelligence services, policy makers, and analysts and are a valuable primary source collection for historical and political science research.
For FBIS reports from 1996 to the present, search World News Connection.
(1957-1994) Full-text, English-language translations of foreign language newspaper articles, radio and television broadcasts, journal articles, reports, and monographs. Covers economics, international relations, national politics, military affairs, and science and technology topics from all regions of the world, with a particular emphasis on communist and third-world countries.
Established in 1957, JPRS supplied U.S. federal government agencies with translations of political, scientific and technical literature. In 1995, JPRS publications were merged into the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports.
(1826 to present) The Associated Press Images Collection™ is a primary source database from the Associated Press (AP), one of the oldest and largest news organizations in the world. Over 12 million photographs from the Associated Press, the largest news organization in the world. Also includes diagrams, charts, maps, and timelines as well as audio clips (1920s to present) and news briefs (1997 to present). Updated daily.
Photographs and graphics from AP Images cannot be sold, syndicated, loaned or used for advertising or for trade without the written consent of AP. In addition, users cannot republish any of the photographs on a Web page.
Over 2.5 million digital images; covers a wide range of cultures and time periods and includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, visual culture, and anthropological and ethnographic materials. Also includes tools to manipulate and analyze the images.
Images may be used for noncommercial, educational, and scholarly purposes by Davidson students and faculty. Please note that they may only be posted to Davidson-restricted Web sites and must not be shared with others outside the college.
The Time Magazine Archive consists of cover to cover processing dating back to issue number one in 1923 of the American popular magazine Time, published by Time Inc. It includes full page images, with searchable text and indexing of all content (including advertisements).
(1690-1998) Digital facsimiles of over 1,000 newspapers. Includes: African American Newspapers (1827-1998), Caribbean Newspapers (1718-1876), Early American Newspapers (1690-1922), Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980)
Includes full-text coverage of US newspapers listed below, with the earliest starting in the late 19th century and many continuing through the 20th century.
Davidson has purchased perpetual access to:
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832 - 1953)
Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003)
Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)
The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
The New York Times with Index (1851-2013)
The Wall Street Journal (1889-1999)
The Washington Post (1877-1999)
(c. 1940s-1970s) Over 100,000 full-text, declassified U.S. government documents; includes correspondence, memoranda, minutes of cabinet meetings, technical studies, national security policy statements, and intelligence estimates from the CIA, FBI, White House, State Department, and others agencies.
(c.1948- ) Over 104,000 declassified U.S. government foreign policy documents organized in 49 collections that cover critical world events and U.S. policy decisions. These documents were obtained through the Freedom of Information Act and are drawn from the collections of the National Security Archive at George Washington University.
Argentina, 1975-1980: The Making of U.S. Human Rights Policy
Chile and the United States: U.S. Policy toward Democracy, Dictatorship, and Human Rights, 1970–1990
CIA Covert Operations: From Carter to Obama, 1977-2010
CIA Covert Operations II: The Year of Intelligence, 1975
CIA Family Jewels Indexed
Colombia and the United States: Political Violence, Narcotics, and Human Rights, 1948-2010
The Cuban Missile Crisis: 50th Anniversary Update
The Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection, From Bay of Pigs to Nuclear Brink
Electronic Surveillance and the National Security Agency: From Shamrock to Snowden
Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, Part III, 1961-2000
The Kissinger Conversations, Supplement: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969–1977
The Kissinger Conversations, Supplement II: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
The Kissinger Telephone Conversations: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
Mexico-United States Counternarcotics Policy, 1969-2013
The National Security Agency: Organization and Operations, 1945-2009
Peru: Human Rights, Drugs and Democracy, 1980-2000
The President’s Daily Brief: Kennedy, Johnson, and the CIA, 1961-1969
Targeting Iraq, Part 1: Planning, Invasion, and Occupation, 1997-2004
U.S. Intelligence and China: Collection, Analysis and Covert Action
The U.S. Intelligence Community After 9/11
U.S. Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction: From World War II to Iraq
U.S. Nuclear History, 1969-1976: Weapons, Arms Control, and War Plans in an Age of Strategic Parity
The United States and the Two Koreas, Part II, 1969-2010
The United States and the Two Koreas (1969-2000)
(1789 to present) Indexes congressional documents, with the full text of bills and resolutions, congressional hearings, the Congressional Record, Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, and more. Search tip: for Boolean operators, use uppercase letters (AND, OR, NOT)
Includes the full text of:
The Congressional Record(1789 to present)
Congressional Hearings (1824 to present), both published and unpublished
Committee reports (1990 to present)
Congressional Research Digital Collection (1830 to present), which contains over 26,000 committee prints and over 32,000 Congressional Research Service reports (1916 to present)
House & Senate documents (1995 to present)
Bills and resolutions, including profiles and tracking (1789 to present)
Public laws (1988 to present)
Code of Federal Regulations (1981 to present)
Federal Register (1980 to present)
Biographical information & voting records (1988 to present)
Roll Call (1989 to present)
Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789-Present
Only available to Davidson College faculty, staff, and students.
Over 30,000 streaming videos with nearly 300,000 video clips; the titles are educational in nature and cover a wide variety of topics in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Also include over 680 archival films and newsreels.