Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. A good source for background information. Download, print, or email as many chapters as you like. You can even send chapters to your Google or Microsoft account.
Documents from the United States Immigration and Naturalization Services related to immigration to Ellis island as well immigration from Asia, Europe and Mexico. The collection also includes reports from INS that investigate ties to immigration and prostitution/slavery and suppression of aliens. Part of ProQuest History Vault.
(1690-1998) Digital facsimiles of over 1,000 newspapers. Includes: African American Newspapers (1827-1998), Caribbean Newspapers (1718-1876), Early American Newspapers (1690-1922), Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980)
Includes full-text coverage of US newspapers listed below, with the earliest starting in the late 19th century and many continuing through the 20th century.
Davidson has purchased perpetual access to:
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832 - 1953)
Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003)
Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)
The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
The New York Times with Index (1851-2013)
The Wall Street Journal (1889-1999)
The Washington Post (1877-1999)
See our full list of Historical Newspapers on the Proquest platform here.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers. With 1.8 million pages available, the collection features publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the mammoth dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end. Major newspapers stand alongside those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women’s rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy. Part of Gale Primary Sources
Newspaper titles include:
New York Herald (NY)
Lynchburg Virginian (VA)
Pacific Commercial Advertiser (HI)
Rocky Mountain News (CO)
Southern Illustrated News (VA)
Daily Inter Ocean (Chicago)
Milwaukee Sentinel (WI)
The Bee (OH)
The Mountaineer (SC)
(c. 1827-1902) Selected full-text, nineteenth-century periodicals.
The library subscribes to: African American Newspapers: The 19th Century, The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective, The Liberator, and Godey's Lady's Book.
Associated Press Collections Online (Gale) focuses on making the varied treasures of the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive available to libraries worldwide. Exploring the history and back story of the venerable Associated Press—decades' worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more.
U.S. newspapers: 19th century newspapers on microfilm