Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Lingle Hut

A listing of resources found in Davidson College Archives & Special Collections related to the Lingle Hut, a local historic landmark.

Archival Materials

Archival materials are the institutional records of Davidson College from its establishment in 1837 to the present day. Included within the collections are president's office records, academic department files, and student organization records. Listed below is a selection of relevant collections related to the Lingle Hut. Collections are organized by record group, along with a brief description of the collection's contents, and are hyperlinked to the collection's digital finding aid.

President Martin (David Grier). Records, 1950 - 1968 (RG 2-1-14)

Description: The official records of D.G. Martin's presidency at Davidson College (1950 - 1968). Several boxes are restricted. Ask the College Archivist for more information. There are a few folders about the Lingle family from the mid-twentieth century in Davidson.

YMCA - Reach Out - Service Council, Records, 1928-1991 (RG 6-13)

Description: The YMCA is first listed as a student organization in the 1878 - 1879 catalog. The major activities of the YMCA included deputations, assisting with Boy Scout Troops, working with local boy's clubs and sports teams, and community work. Deputations or teams of students were also sent out to speak at area churches.

YMCA Handbook, 1896 - (RG 6-13-2)

Description: The collection consists of the handbooks from 1896 to 1961. The handbooks contain descriptions of the YMCA and its activities, academic calendars, advice for first-year students, and class yells. In the early years, the handbooks also contained the course schedule, directory of students and sports information.

Student Work (RG 10-1)

Description: This collection consists of student papers donated by several academic departments, with most of these examples from the 1970s forward. Works include oral history interviews with members of the Westside Stakeholders, the Davidson Fire Department, the Ada Jenkins Center, and a handful of individuals associated with Reeves Temple AME Zion in some way. There are also several student papers discussing racial barriers in the town of Davidson.

Manuscript Collections

Listed below are relevant manuscript collections related to the Lingle Hut. Collections are organized by manuscript number, along with a brief description of the collection's contents, and are hyperlinked to the collection's digital finding aid. For more information about these collections, including access, please email archives@davidson.edu.

Gant Family Collection (DC0277s)

Description: J. Oscar Gant helped build the Lingle Hut, then known as Unity Church Cabin. His records include a photograph from 1933 of the men who helped build the Lingle Hut, standing together in front of the building. Also included are files on the Davidson Fire Department with a copy of the minutes of the first meeting of the department in 1933, and three recorded interviews with James Gant housed with the Archives Audio Collections (Audio 285.1, 285.2 and 286).

Walter Lee Lingle Collection (DC014)

Description: Walter Lingle graduated from Davidson College in 1892. In 1929, he became president of Davidson College, having served as a trustee and as president of the trustees for many years. He retired in 1941. The collection consists of biographical information, correspondence, speeches and sermons, literary materials, notebooks, a biography by LeGette Blythe, photographs, and printed materials.

Common Ground, Records, 1995 - (DC056)
Description: Common Ground formed in August 1995 with the purpose of "promoting communication and understanding, and improve relations among people of all races in Davidson." Activities of the group included hosting monthly public meetings, organizing cross-town block parties, hosting candidate forums during election years and providing mediation services. A part of Common Ground, the Community Relations Task Force, was formed at the request of then mayor, Randall Kincaid. Originally a town committee, Common Ground took over the responsibilities of the re-formed Community Relations Task Force in 2001.

Audiovisual Materials

Audiovisual materials are media including record albums, audiocassettes, videocassettes, music cds, cd-roms, and dvds. Most of our collection deals with campus events such as convocation, freshman orientation lectures, commencements, and reunions. There are also oral history tapes related to college and town history. Listed below is video from our collection about Reeves Temple AME Zion Church. If have questions or would like to view this material in-person, please email archives@davidson.edu for assistance

Video 74: Reeves Temple AME Zion Church

Date: December 5, 1993; November 20, 1994

Description: Video has two parts. The first is historical information narrated by Alexis Smith, the second is a Kwanza ceremony. This is part of the Reeves Temple A.M.E. Zion Church Collection (DC0298s)

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com