Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections

An introduction to using materials in Davidson College's Archives and Special Collections.

COVID-19 Update

The Archives and Special Collections staff is currently working remotely as a precaution against COVID-19. We are continuing to support the research and instructional needs of Davidson's students, faculty, and staff as much as possible without access to our physical collections.

For questions or assistance, please email us at archives@davidson.edu and we will get back to you as quickly as possible, although response times may be longer than usual.   

(Re)Collecting COVID-19: Davidson Stories

As Davidson adjusts to the COVID-19 pandemic, we are challenged to develop new ways to engage and interact with our community. The College Archives, which regularly collects, shares, and preserves the college’s and community’s unique stories, would like to document the experiences of students, faculty, staff, alumni, and community members during these uncertain times. 

To this end, we are excited to present the initiative "(Re)Collecting COVID-19: Davidson Stories." In this crowdsourcing project, we invite you to share your COVID-19 story through the contribution of original words, music, video, art, or images, regardless of whether you are on campus, in the Town of Davidson, or thousands of miles away.

Items may be contributed through at least the end of the calendar year. Please check out the site, consider making a contribution, and share this project with others you think would be interested.

Remote Access to Collections and Services

Remote Reference: Please email us at archives@davidson.edu for assistance with research questions. We will do our best to help you with your requests while working without access to our physical collections. Priority assistance is given to current Davidson students, faculty, and staff. 

Remote Instruction: Davidson faculty who would like their students to use materials from Archives and Special Collections while teaching remotely should email coursesupport@davidson.edu. We are happy to brainstorm ways to provide students with access to our unique and rare materials.

Digital Collections: Some of the materials from Archives and Special Collections have been digitized and are available remotely. You can find a list on our Remote Learning & Research guide. At this time, we are unfortunately unable to digitize materials in our physical collection.  

About Archives & Special Collections

Statement of Purpose

Davidson College Archives & Special Collections includes the Archives, Manuscripts, Rare Books and Special Collections. In preserving and adding to holdings of unique and rare materials, Archives & Special Collections actively supports the campus curriculum and promotes awareness of the value of these resources. 


Audience

The Davidson College Archives & Special Collections primary audience is Davidson faculty, students, and staff.  We also work with members of the local community, alumni, outside researchers, and other cultural institutions. Patrons have access to collections in-person, through online collections and catalogs, and through our participation in collaborative digital projects.

Hours and Location

Hours

The Archives & Special Collections is currently closed as a precaution against COVID-19. Staff are currently working remotely Monday-Friday from 8:30 am to 5:00 pm. Please email archives@davidson.edu for assistance.

Follow Us!

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com