Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections

An introduction to using materials in Davidson College's Archives and Special Collections.

Course Collaboration: Pol 284 U.S. Diplomacy in the First Person

This guide was developed for POL 284: U.S. Diplomacy in the First Person in spring 2020.

The guide uncovers resources in Archives, Special Collections, and Community Department that relate to Dean Rusk, Jack Perry, and the Dean Rusk International Studies Program

Special Collections: 19th Century Resources

The 19th Century Primary Sources researach guide is a listing of sources about local people and events found in Davidson College's Archives & Special Collections, supplemented by the library's extensive e-resources. 

Some of the listed sources are digitized while others are only available for use in the Rare Book Room. Please email archives@davidson.edu to make an appointment.

Oral History + Podcasting

The Oral History and Podcasting research guide was created by Annie Sadler (T&I) and Jessica Cottle (Archives & Special Collections) as part of their work with the Oral History Working Group through the Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL).

The guide includes contact information, example release forms, links to and explanations of the technology available to students, staff, and faculty for oral history work, listings of oral histories in the Archives, and a request form for in-class sessions on oral history. 

Justice, Equality, Community Grant

This guide is a centralized overview of digitized materials and archives initiatives funded by the archives portion of the Justice, Equality, Community grant at Davidson College (2017 - 2020).

Cumming Map Collection

The Cumming Map Collection guide provides access to digitized maps from this unique collection focused on the southeastern region of North America, information about the collection's provenance, and helpful links to assist in the analysis of the maps.

Special Collections: 19th Century Presbyterian Church History

The 19th Century Presbyterian History research guide contains a selection of books and periodicals primarily focused on topics related to the Presbyterian Church in the southern United States during the nineteenth century.

Special attention is given to resources discussing issues related to enslavement, emancipation, and gender. 

Special Collections: The Lake Norman Collections

The Lake Norman Collections research guide is an evolving list of primary and secondary sources related to the history of the greater Lake Norman area.

Most of the materials are housed in Archives and Special Collections at Davidson College. Resources housed elsewhere are labeled. 

Special Collections: The Lingle Hut

The Lingle Hut research guide provides a listing of materials in Archives & Special Collections related to what was once known as the "Unity Church Cabin." Still standing on Watson Street near Davidson's Main Street, the hut continues to serve as the fellowship hall for Reeves Temple AME Zion Church.

Course Collaboration: AFR 329 Women & Slavery in the Black Atlantic

The course guide for AFR 329 Women & Slavery in the Black Atlantic was built in collaboration with the AFR 329 Spring 2019 class, James Sponsel, and Archives and Special Collections staff.

This guide contains links to primary sources about enslaved peoples in the Carolinas found in our library's databases, national archives collections, local historic sites, local institutions of higher education, and digital materials from the Davidson College archives.

Davidson College Summer Institute 2019

This guide is a compilation of resources used during the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation-funded K-12 Teachers Workshop titled: Davidson College Summer Institute, Engaging Primary Sources: A Digital Humanities Workshop.

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com