Research Guides: Food Studies: Suggested Resources

Reference books

US Government

United Nations/NGO

Environment Abstracts
(1975 to present) Citations to articles on topics related to environmental issues, impacts, laws, policies, and technologies, including biodiversity, energy, land use, pollution, population studies, resource management, sustainable development, and more. Covers over 950 journals.
GreenFILE
Information covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and actions to minimize negative impacts.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies
A wide variety of materials on sustainability and environmental issues, including articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers, refereed case studies, videos, podcasts, and images. Also includes country, organization, and issue/topic portals.

GREENR: Agriculture and Food Systems
Issues covered in "Agriculture and Food Systems" include Aquaculture, Food Safety, and Organic Agriculture and Organic Foods.

Agricola
USDA National Agricultural Library’s main search tool. Includes citations to agricultural literature acquired by the National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions. Covers the areas of agriculture, agricultural economics, and food and nutrition.

Web of Science
An interdisciplinary resource with citations to articles from over 12,000 journals and conference proceedings
Access is restricted to current faculty and staff and currently-enrolled students of Davidson College only.
Academic Search Complete
(1887 to present, with most titles dating from 1970s to present) Multi-disciplinary; includes citations to articles in over 13,000 popular and scholarly periodicals, 9,000 of which are full-text.
ProQuest Research Tools
Multidisciplinary collection of full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and more. Also contains citations to additional materials. Search includes all of the Davidson College Library ProQuest databases.

Scholarly Associations

Activist groups

Think tanks

If you find a book in one of these series that isn't available at Davidson, you may request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Search the library catalog for the title of any book in these series to find whether or not we own a copy.

Image searching guide
This research guides has links to Davidson's licensed collections as well as tools to search public domain and Creative Commons licensed images

Library of Congress Digital Collections A rich collection of primary sources related to U.S. history and culture; materials are drawn from the Library of Congress and other research libraries. Includes digitized manuscripts, government documents, pamphlets, and books as well as photographs, prints, maps, sheet music, video clips, and sound files.
This collection is public domain and are not protected by copyright
Associated Press Images Collection (EBSCO) (1826 to present) The Associated Press Images Collection™ is a primary source database from the Associated Press (AP), one of the oldest and largest news organizations in the world. Over 12 million photographs from the Associated Press, the largest news organization in the world. Also includes diagrams, charts, maps, and timelines as well as audio clips (1920s to present) and news briefs (1997 to present). Updated daily.
Photographs and graphics from AP Images cannot be sold, syndicated, loaned or used for advertising or for trade without the written consent of AP. In addition, users cannot republish any of the photographs on a Web page.
Artstor/JSTOR Digital Library The Artstor Digital Library is a database of high quality images for use in the humanities. Images are also accessible through the JSTOR platform. Spring 2024 this database will relocate to the "J" page and accessible through JSTOR.

Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.