English 380 The Prison in Literature

Gain access to rare primary source documents with these topically focused digital collections. Supports academic research.

The HathiTrust Digital Library collection is a digital repository of books, selected periodicals, and other materials digitized by a partnership of research libraries.
As a member of HathiTrust, Davidson College has digital full-text access to public domain titles and full-text searching of additional titles in copyright.

Searches all 10 databases within the Historical Imprints collection. Early American books, pamphlets, broadsides and rare printed materials providing insight to American history, literature, culture and daily life.

A digital collection of books, pamphlets, political tracts, maps, and other works about North, South, and Central America and the West Indies, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.
Part of Gale Primary Sources

Features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700.

Includes published records of the American colonies, documents published by state constitutional conventions, state and territorial codes, municipal codes, city charters, law dictionaries, digests, and more.

Covers the history of Western trade, the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, and colonization, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism.
Part of Gale Primary Sources.

Search newspaper titles and pamphlets from the collection of Reverend Charles Burney.

Database of newspapers including African American Newspapers (1827-1998), Caribbean Newspapers (1718-1876), Early American Newspapers (1690-1922), Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980).

Search or browse all Gale newspaper and periodical archives simultaneously.