Week 4: 1971 - 2010 - DavidsonLearns (2023): An Exploration of Davidson History

Davidson After the Lake, 1970 - 2010

Session Date: March 21, 2023

Instructor: Jessica Cottle

About this Session: This session will begin with stories about the construction of Lake Norman and its completion in 1963. We will then discuss how the Lake impacted the town of Davidson by spotlighting various community committees and initiatives with a particular emphasis on neighborhood development. After the talk, students will break into 5 groups of 4 and be given a packet with Archival materials about the origins of specific neighborhoods. We will discuss your findings and wrap up class by thinking about the ways these lessons can be applied to Archives collecting in the present.

Homework

Before this session, please browse the following resources:

Lake Norman Magazine, August 2003
Article from the August 2003 Lake Norman Magazine discussing the history of Lake Norman.
Lake Norman Magazine, March 2004
Article from the March 2004 Lake Norman Magazine detailing the history of Lake Norman.
Lake Norman Magazine, November 2004
Article from the November 2004 edition of Lake Norman Magazine discussing the history of Lake Norman.

Oral History Interview Notes with Annie Mildred Lowery and Bernice Houston
This document is a partial transcript of an oral history interview conducted with Annie Mildred Lowery and Bernice Houston in 2007. Lowery and Houston were instrumental in the development of the Lakeside Neighborhood in Davidson and discuss that process in their interview. They also share personal stories about their experiences in town.
Under Lake Norman Project: The Economic Development of Griffith Street
This link takes you to a short student-authored article discussing the economic development of Griffith Street (in Davidson) after the Lake.

Additional Resources [Not Required]

If you would like to learn more about Lake Norman or the development of neighborhoods in Davidson after the Lake, consult the following resources. They are not required:

Shared Stories: African Americans in North Mecklenburg, Neighborhoods Section
The "neighborhood" portion of the published volume, "Shared Stories: African Americans in North Mecklenburg," featuring oral histories collected for the NEH Sharing Our Stories Archives grant in 2016.

Shared Stories: Black Lives in North Mecklenburg
Website featuring an archives of oral histories, photographs and community records that document the lives, experiences, and contributions of African Americans in North Mecklenburg County, North Carolina
Frank Gudger Oral History Interview
This recording is of an interview with Frank Gudger conducted in 2013. Gudger worked for Duke Power while Lake Norman was being built and is from the town of Davidson. He speaks about the changes the community experienced after the Lake, how Duke acquired land for the Lake, and personal family stories. The interview is about 45 minutes long.
Annie Mildred Lowery and Bernice Houston Oral History Interview
This recording is of an oral history interview conducted with Annie Mildred Lowery and Bernice Houston in 2007. Lowery and Houston were instrumental in the development of the Lakeside Neighborhood and discuss that process in their interview. They also share family stories and broader information about the town. The interview is about 90 minutes long.
Davidson Landing Resource Packet
This PDF document contains scanned newspaper clippings and archival records about the creation of the Davidson Landing area in Davidson, NC. This collection of materials was used in Davidson Learns, 2022 and 2023.
River Run Resource Packet
This PDF contains scans of newspaper clippings and archival documents about the creation of the River Run neighborhood in Davidson, NC. This packet was used for Davidson Learns, 2022 and 2023.
Westside Neighborhoods Resource Packet
This PDF contains scans of newspaper clippings and archival materials related to the development of Davidson's "westside" neighborhoods. This packet was used in Davidson Learns, 2022 and 2023.
St Alban's Resource Packet
This PDF contains scans of newspaper clippings and archival documents about the founding the St Alban's area of Davidson, NC. This packet was used for Davidson Learns, 2022 and 2023.
The Pines Resource Packet
This PDF contains scans of newspaper clippings and archival records about the founding of The Pines retirement community. This packet was used for Davidson Learns, 2022 and 2023.

DavidsonLearns (2023): An Exploration of Davidson History

Indigenous Peoples Resources

Indigenous Peoples Resources

Davidson After the Lake, 1970 - 2010

Homework