Student Publications

Student Publications – Timeline Assignment
Title	Date	Description	Location/Digital
Davidson Monthly	1870-1872	First subtitle, “A Magazine Devoted to Science, Literature and Art." The Davidson Monthly reported on local events, published the important speeches and resolutions of the Eumenean and Philanthropic literary societies, and ran editorials and other fillers, but the focus of the magazine was poetry, prose, and essays written by Davidson students and alumni.	Archives, D Room Google Drive - digital copies Online Davidson Ency entry
Davidson College Magazine	1886-1926	Continues above publication	Archives, D Room Google Drive - Digital copies
Quips and Cranks	1895-2020	In December 1894, the staff of The Davidson Monthly stated, “Briefly, it [annual] is a photographic and historical summary of college life.” The first issue was published by the Eumenean and Philanthropic Literary Societies.	Archives, D Room DigitalNC version Online Davidson Ency entry
Cap and Bells	1923	The only issue contains humorous poems, cartoons and jokes; published by twelve members of the class of 1924 for the Junior Speaking in the spring of 1923	Archives
Chameleon	1926-1930	Began in 1926 as an effort by students to change the image of the Davidson College Magazine. The editors did not want the Magazine to fall into the trap of having too many semi-professional writers and made it a strictly student publication.	Archives, D Room Google Drive - Digital copies
The Yowl	1930-1936	Began after the demise of The Chameleon; first issue cost .35. Published by Davidson College, but staffed with students, The Yowl was a humorous magazine filled with satire, cartoons, jokes, humorous stories, anecdotes, poetry, songs, and skits created by the student body	Archives, D Room
Scripts N’ Pranks	1936-1965	After The Yowl ended, most of the editorial staff remained to produce Scripts N Pranks, a magazine devoted to "literature (scripts) and humor (pranks) The last issue was published in February of 1965 because the editors felt that Scripts 'N Pranks no longer represented Davidson College.	Archives Online Davidson Ency Entry
Inklings	1960-1977, annually	Writings from freshman English classes. Sponsored by the English Department, a student editorial board selected the essays, short stories and poems.	Archives, D Room
The Miscellany	1965-1984, published twice a year	It began after the demise of Scripts and Pranks, which was a spin-off of the original Yowl. It includes stories and poems submitted by students, professors, and town members.	Archives
Communique	1982-1983; 2 issues were published in the spring of 1982 and 1 in the fall of 1983.	The Communique was established as a freshman newspaper in 1982. The paper included articles on student life, particularly fraternities and women's eating houses and creative writing.	Archives (Oversize Map case B-10)