Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archival Resources: Commission on Race and Slavery

A consolidated view of digitized materials and collections related to facts presented in the Report of the Commission on Race and Slavery, 2020.

Academic Year 2021 - Access and Services

For the Fall 2021 semester, Archives, Special Collections, and Community staff will be returning to in-person work. We will continue to offer hybrid collections access options to Davidson College students, faculty, and staff. Policies include:

  • Reference: Please email us at archives@davidson.edu for assistance with research questions. Reference assistance will be provided via email (archives@davidson.edu), in-person by appointment, or Zoom by appointment. Our reference hours for the Fall 2021 semester are Monday to Friday between 1:00pm and 5:00pm by appointment.
  • Instruction: We will offer in-person instruction in accordance with CDC guidelines and College policy. Davidson faculty who would like their students to use materials from Archives and Special Collections while teaching remotely should email archives@davidson.edu. We are happy to brainstorm ways to provide students with access to our unique and rare materials.
  • Collections: Many materials from Archives and Special Collections have been digitized and are available remotely through our Digital Collections guide. To browse our physical archival and manuscript collections, please visit our online catalog and if there are materials you are interested in viewing, please email us at archives@davidson.edu to make an appointment. 

All services will be by appointment only and with appropriate social distancing and wearing of masks or face coverings according to CDC guidance and College policy. If you are not a current Davidson staff, student or faculty email  to learn the latest guidelines. 

Citation Guidance

For citation help with our materials, please consult this guide. In addition to this guide, please email us at archives@davidson.edu with any citation questions you may have. 

Please also consult the library's Citing Sources Guide, available here

Other Related Research Guides

Archives, Special Collections & Community Research Guides

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com