Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archival Resources: Commission on Race and Slavery

A consolidated view of digitized materials and collections related to facts presented in the Report of the Commission on Race and Slavery, 2020.

Digitized Resources

Screenshot of handwritten Davidson College Presbyterian Church minutes, 1800sDavidson College Presbyterian Church Minutes

In 1837, Davidson College Presbyterian Church (DCPC) was founded along with the College and served as the worship place for students, faculty, and local townspeople. Digitized here are the 19th century session minutes and register from DCPC. There is mention of African-American community members throughout the records. For permission to quote or publish, contact DCPC.

 

ada jenkins center paper cover pageRG10/1: Student Work

This collection contains a number of resources related to race relations in the Town of Davidson and surrounding communities. Materials include student research papers and interviews on these topics, including the Ada Jenkins Center (formerly Davidson Colored School and now a community center). Portions of this record group have been digitized and are available, here.

 

Cover of the 1922 edition of the Davidson College MagazineDavidson Monthly (1870 - 1871, 1886 - 1930)

Subtitled “A Magazine Devoted to Science, Literature and Art,” The Davidson Monthly reported on local events, published the important speeches of the Eumenean and Philanthropic literary societies, and ran editorials, but the focus of the magazine was poetry, prose, and essays written by Davidson students and alumni.

 

 

Edgeworth Female Seminary Tuition from Chalmers CollectionDC058: Chalmers Davidson Plantation Files 

This collection contains select research materials collected by Dr. Davidson for his research in writing The Plantation World Around Davidson. These digitized files are original plantation records from families like the Davidsons of Rural Hill and the Brevard family.

 

Selected manuscript document from the Robert Z Johnston collectionDC022: Robert Zenas Johnston Collection

This collection concerns Robert Zenas Johnston (1834-1908) and includes school notebooks from Davidson College and Columbia Theological Seminary, student essays, correspondence, his sermons (1859-1907) and speeches, as well as a small amount of financial and printed materials. 

 

front of community relations committee report from the town of davidsonDC0218s: Community Relations Committee Records

Also referred to as the Community Relations Task Force, the collection consists of a copy of the founding ordinance, minutes, and related records for the period 1979 to 1988. There are printed minutes and handwritten notes, copies of resolutions, and newspaper clippings. During this time the committee worked with the Davidson Community Development Club to address issues related to housing, the community center, and plans for Griffith Street.

 

snippet of transcript of common ground panel discussionDC056: Common Ground Records

Common Ground formed in August 1995. The purpose of this grassroots organization was to promote communication and understanding and improve relations among people of all races in Davidson. A transcript for a public panel, "Ada Jenkins and Beyond," was digitized and is available online, here.

 

Audio 2: Davidson History, Miss Newtie Deal Johnston, 1976

Subjects: Davidson, NC History  

Audio 4: Davidson History, Miss Louise Withers Sloan, 1976                       

Subjects: Davidson, NC History  

Audio 7: Davidson History, Mrs. Dell Arbuckle Logan, Mrs. Letitia Currie, Mrs. Lucy Johnston, 1976

Subjects: Davidson, NC History  

Audio 107: Common Ground Oral History/Project, Patricia Sailstad, 04/01/1997                     

Subjects: Davidson, NC – History, Race Relations

Audio 112: Common Ground - Mary Potts, Sarah Jetton, Frances Houston Beale, Mary Louise Brawley Ivey, 09/15/1997                 

Subjects: Davidson, NC - History, Davidson, NC - Churches           

Audio 152: Oral History/Interview, Marion Cole, Barbara Gammon, Jan Blodgett, 10/12/2000                     

Subjects: Davidson, NC

Audio 163: Oral History/Interview, Frank Vinson, Aileen Vinson, 08/27/2002             

Subjects: Davidson, NC - First Baptist Church      

Audio 166: Oral History/Interview, Theodore Roosevelt Wilson, 09/20/2002                            

Subjects: Davidson, NC - Race Relations

Online Exhibits and Blog Posts

On the Archives Website:

Shared Stories: A collection of photographs, oral histories, and records documenting the lives and contributions of African-Americans in the greater Cornelius, Davidson, and Huntersville, NC area. You can also access the digital oral history files by clicking here.

Lake Norman Student Projects: A collection of senior capstone projects centered on the social and environmental history of Lake Norman and the surrounding communities. Topics include pollution, housing, flooding, and demographic change.

Local Maps: An assortment of digitized maps of the Lake Norman area including Mecklenburg County, Iredell County, Davidson, NC and Davidson College.

Around the D: The official blog for the Davidson College Archives, Special Collections, and Community department. Here you'll find posts on subjects from race relations, gender, integration, holiday traditions, to rare books. 

Additional Web Resources:

Public Databases

Campus Databases: Davidson Log-in Required

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com